Ram OC Help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ram OC Help

I've done a bunch of searching and been unable to find a fix for this. I seem to have a bit of a unique situation. I'm trying to overclock my ram (F3-16000CL6D-4GBPIS) to the specified speed and timings. (MSI 890FXA-GD70 v1.9 BIOS with an AMD Phenom II x4 970. I know the ram I bought isn't made for this setup, but I didn't do enough research when I bought it. I'm kicking myself now). I'm new to overclocking, but I've been fiddling for the last few days and read everything I can find, so I have a good idea about all the options and the process in general.

Anyway, on to the problem: as soon as I overclock past 1656 MHz my computer stops detecting all 4 GB of ram. Instead it only detects 2 GB. This is confirmed in Windows (7 64-bit) as well. The stranger part is that my BIOS still shows the SPD information from both DIMMs and CPU-Z sees both as well.

And the details:

FSB: 250 MHz
    CPU: 3.5 GHz (stock speed)
    CPU-NB Freq: 2500 MHz
    HTT: 2000 MHz (stock speed)
    FSB/DRAM Ratio: 1:3.33 (same happens 1:4 once I cross 1656 MHz)
    DRAM Voltage: 1.651 V (suggested voltage)
    Timings: Auto (which ends up at 9-9-9-24-1T)
    Dual Channel mode, Unganged
    C1E, Cool 'n' Quiet, and Spread Spectrum all disabled
    All other voltages are Auto

I've tried raising the CPU-NB Voltage to 1.3-1.4 V, raising the DRAM Voltage to 1.75 V. I've also tried 8-8-8-24-2T for timings. I'm not too worried about the timings yet, I just want to get closer to the rated speed with all 4 GB being used first. If I plug in each DIMM separately they work just fine.

Anyone have any idea what's causing this?