• Show
Clear All

• Help with RAM timings and BSOD

Hello

Here's my information:

G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3-1866 (PC3 14900)

Motherboard BIOSTAR A880GZ

CPU: AMD FX 8150 8 core 3.60 ghz

I'm getting BSOD's including Memory Management. Using the guide at http://www.overclock.net/t/26706/inf...gs-for-dummies
    I have attempted to set my timings correctly (9-10-9-28) but I still get BSODS.

I have run Memtest and have hit 1000's of errors within the first 60 seconds.

I am a NOOB. Please help me.

Thanks

Robert

How many sticks of DRAM are you running? And what exact set of sticks do you have, there's a few different Ripjaws sets, also Ripjaws X and Ripjaws Z sets

Pls offer comments on support I provide, HERE, in order to help me do a better job here:

Tman

Comment

Ram Model etc as requested

The Ram specs are:

G.Skill Sniper
      f3-14900cl9d-8gbsr
      DDR3-1866
      pc-14900
      4096mbx2 (2 sticks of 4 gigs)
      cl9-10-9-28 1.5V

PS.

I ran Memtest for over 12 hours with the result of millions of errors.
      Having never used this program before I do not know of the results show errors due to BIOS settings which I may have changed inappropriately.

Thanks for your help.

Robert

Comment

Pps:

I am sorry that I mistakenly specified Ripjaw in my previous post.

Comment

raise cpu-nb voltage until it stabilizes.
          AMD's Official AM3/AM2+/AM2 Performance Tuning Guide

AMD's Official FX AM3+ Performance Tuning Guide

Comment

cpu-nb voltage addresses the cpu doesn't it? Memtest is indicating memory errors...

I'll read the article. The link you gave me for AM3+ doesn't load. I get an Upstream write/read error.

I'll Google it.

Comment

For recent AMD chips, the cpu-nb is actually the memory controller. I actually had to raise mine to 1.45v to stabilize DDR3-2000CL8.

Comment

Yep, CPU/NB supplies the voltage to the MC (memory controller), with 4GB sticks and AMD mght want to add .05 to the DRAM voltage also