Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Computer won't POST, only beeps

Motherboard: Asus P8B75-M
    RAM: Ripjaws X F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL (two 4GB DIMMs)
    CPU: Intel Core i5 3550, stock heat sink/fan

The DRAM light comes on and the computer only beeps (one long, two short), both suggesting a memory problem. There is nothing on the screen. I've never used the mobo, RAM, or CPU before, and unfortunately have no other machine to test them on. The PSU is reused, but known good (I was using it just yesterday). I have no video card or drives plugged in; I'm using on-board video until the thing POSTs.

I currently have one DIMM in the A2 slot, as the mobo manual suggests. I've tried switching the DIMM with the other and switching slots. The DIMM is in all the way and is not inserted the wrong way or anything.

I tried letting the MemOK! feature run all its tests. All it did was the same thing as before, only with the LED blinking and the computer occasionally rebooting as the test continued (which the test is supposed to do) until the test completed with no result.

Any ideas?
    Last edited by furrykef; 07-03-2012, 03:47 AM.

Do you have a different stick you could try to see if it's poss a mobo problem and to checkand see if the mobo has the latest BIOS

Pls offer comments on support I provide, HERE, in order to help me do a better job here:

Tman

Comment

No, no spare RAM, no spare mobo.

Dunno what BIOS version, but I don't think I can update it if I can't even get into the BIOS...

Comment

In part I asked because the mobo hasn't been out all that long and has already had a couple BIOS updates, both were heavily inot DRAM and CPU compatibility, you may have the original and it may not like the DRAM or poss even the CPU - I'd see if you can find someone with a stick you could borrow - otherwise you may have to take it to a shop or a techie

Pls offer comments on support I provide, HERE, in order to help me do a better job here:

Tman

Comment