Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 32GB memory - only 16 recognized?

Hello,

I just built my new system, and am having problems with all the RAM being recognized.

The mobo is a Rampage IV Extreme, with 32GB of F3-17000CL11Q2 installed in all 8 slots (4x8). However, only 16gb is recognized in windows and at boot-up!

The BIOS is 1005, and all DIMMs show up in the POST. I've also shuffled them around, and it seems only the ones in banks A and B are counting towards total RAM.

Do I need to change BIOS settings to get the RAM recognized? If so, what should I be tweaking? (I'm not an expert at this -- I've left my BIOS settings at default for now)

Thanks!

Couple tings to check first, do you have the latest BIOS for the mobo, can check at the manufacturers web site, and possible more so, what version of Windows are you running? If it's Win7 64bit, the Home Premium flavor, it will only see/use 16GB.

Pls offer comments on support I provide, HERE, in order to help me do a better job here:

Tman

Comment

Hello,

The bios is the latest (1005) and I'm running win7 ultimate 64 bit.

What should I check next?

Thank you in advance!

Comment

Might want to pull the CPU and see if there are any bent pins or see if any thermal compound seeped under the CPU or into the socket. I'll try and do a little research on your mobo, I haven't worked with one of the R IV X's yet.

Pls offer comments on support I provide, HERE, in order to help me do a better job here:

Tman

Comment

Ok - I will check, but I doubt it's my problem. I have a strong suspicion it has to do with the bios settings. They are at default, and I feel like this is performance ram that I just don't know how to configure :-/

Comment

Did you enable XMP? Is it a single set of DRAM or two sets mixed together (which may not work).

Tman

Comment

Hello,

It was purchased as this kit: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820231502