Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• F3-12800CL6D-4GBPI problem with ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3

Hi,

I am an experienced system builder and I take many precautions when installing new hardware. I built a system back in December with the (2 x 2gb) kit of F3-12800CL6D-4GBPI memory. Although configured for Intel systems, I read reviews it worked great for the AMD X6 processors, so I took a chance. All went well, latencies were as rated and I couldn't be happier.

I decided this past week to order another set to boost the memory to 8gb. So, I'd have 4 x 2gb. I turned off the power, unplugged power cable, and installed the memory in the other two available DRAM slots. I reconnect everything, power up, red DRAM light. I can't boot or see BIOS. I do my test of each stick of memory with each slot. Here is where I run into the problem. Suddenly, NEITHER stick of memory works now, including the ones that worked before.

I heard a possible solution was remove the CMOS. I did that, for about 2 hours.
    I used the MemOK! feature to run failsafe settings for all memory sticks in all configurations, still no results.

I am out of ideas except to try new memory and then try new mobo, but I can't believe that all 4 sticks of my memory are incompatible suddenly when the two I bought in December were working fantastically.

Thanks for any help in advance.
    Last edited by TracerFox; 06-04-2011, 11:16 AM.

Might try cleaning contacts on a stick, and blowing out slot 1 then try it there.....I'd prob then try a different stick, if you have one or can borrow one. If it boots up, then try adding your sticks to check them....if the different stick does nothing, then could go the try different GPU, Different PSU...still nothing then your down to the mobo/CPU....can again try one or the other if you have one or can borrow one (I know that's a pain, but a lot cheaper than taking it to a shop)....

Let us know what happens and if we can help any more