Help! MSI P67a-GD55 (B3) / F3-17000CL9D-4GBXL

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help! MSI P67a-GD55 (B3) / F3-17000CL9D-4GBXL

This is my first post, so please go easy on me.

I recently build a system with the title motherboard and RAM, and am unable to get the RAM stable at the spec'ed settings. The most notable issue occurs when trying to wake the PC from sleep mode -- it results in a power loop that requires a CMOS clear.

The RAM is rated @ DDR3-2133 w/ 9-11-9-28. Enabling XMP on the MB, or even setting these specs manually causes the power loop problem.

With that being said, if I run the RAM @ 1600 instead of 2133, I don't seem to have the wake issue. But I obviously expect the RAM to meet manufacturer recommended specs.

I did flash the MB bios to the newest 1.B build hoping it would solve the problem, but to no avail.

Any help / suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks!

Edit: I did see the sticky regarding MSI P67 boards, but I am new at this and could use a dumbing down if possible.
    Last edited by xTRYANx; 05-29-2011, 07:14 PM.

Do you have an OC at all? These mobos are screwy with voltage settings, I just had one I RMAed for the infinite power loop problem, the second I got working but for CPU and CPU IO it requires far higher voltage than it should. It too, is going back and being replaced with a different brand as basically all their P67 boards seem to have loop problems here and there, if you happen to get a 'Good' mobo, seems to be hit or miss, would guess you'd be okay.

Generally w/ mobos that have voltage regulation issues such as these run into problems with sleep mode, BSOD if they have power savings enabled etc