Inquiry about Gskill RAM.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Inquiry about Gskill RAM.

Hello, I am a bit new to computer modding, so I may lack some or most of the knowledge of all the people here, I have read most of the questions regarding my issue, but none seem to answer it fully, so I am making a new thread.

I hope someone can answer most of my questions, and I apologize for the ignorance.

1. What are RAM Timings and what do they do?
    2. What's the difference between 10600 and 12800 gskill products?
    3. I have a ASUS M4A785TD V- EVO mobo, and a Phenom II X2 3.2g processor, what would be the best choice in terms of ram (8g and above?)? I know there's a configurator on the main site, but I would like to get some of the newer gskill products.

I personally love Gskill products and now that I have an OK computer, I would absolutely love to learn more about them and own some.

Thank you so much for just paying attention to this post, and again, I apologize for my lack of knowledge.
    Last edited by RazorHedge; 05-15-2011, 01:24 PM. Reason: Edited Mobo name.

Memory timings and such can be easily googled, it's the way I learned how to configure bios settings.
    (PC3-10600 = 1333MHz) and (PC3-12800 = 1600MHz), this is the memory's rated frequency/speed.
    8GB is all that most modern home PC's will ever need, consider 2x4GB modules.
    Running 4x2GB modules (with all dimms populated) can put tremendous stress on the AMD Phenom IMC.

IMC = Internal Memory Controller, which is imbedded into all AMD Phenom CPU's.
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T@ 4.2GHz
    Corsair H50 Hydro (push/pull intake fans)
    ASUS Crosshair V Formula
    2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1975MHz, 9-10-9-28 (2T)
    SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
    Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
    Corsair HX850W Modular
    Cooler Master HAF 922 (200mm side fan)
    2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)

Comment