have i bought the right memory

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• have i bought the right memory

Hello to all, firstly i have already purchased a new Asus Sabertooth Z77 E7338 Rev 3 edition motherboard, awaiting the i7 3770k processor and after much reading I decided on the Ripjaws X F3-14900CL 10D-16GBXL (due to price and looks- which i know is wrong) I have 4 x sticks of 8GB and have not yet opened the packaging. I am a video editor and have built my own PC's several times but it can be very overwhelming with all the latency, mhz and all other data you need to understand. My question is this will my RAM work ok with my new setup or will I have to manually configure voltages etc to get it working correctly.

You say 4 sticks which with that model # would be 2 packages, and since XMP programming is by the package, you will probably have to set up manually as XMP won't work correctly and 1866 is too fast for just trying to let AUTO do it. Any time you go with two sets, it can be problematic....Can either exchange and get a 32GB set or when you get the CPU, give a shout and we can prob get them to play nice.

Pls offer comments on support I provide, HERE, in order to help me do a better job here:

Tman

Comment

thx, not what i wanted to hear but I am not surprised. Is it because they need to be matched pairs etc. The serial numbers end with 33 - 34 for one package, and 37 - 38 with the other. You say a 32GB package will that be 4 x 8GB but in one single packet. What would you use in the Asus Sabertooth if it were you ?

Comment

More options

F3-1866C10Q-32GXL seems to be more correct and should be easier to get working correctly.
        Last edited by dymmy; 10-08-2012, 12:14 PM. Reason: incorrect

Comment