F3-17000CL11D-8GBXL in Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3R cant get XMP speeds

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• F3-17000CL11D-8GBXL in Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3R cant get XMP speeds

I have just put two of these 8Gb kits in my Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3R. My BIOS is 14b, the latest.

(I got these sticks to upgrade from F3-16000CL9D-4GBRH which my supplier doesn't stock any more - I have a future Z77X in mind)

My CPU is a Core i5 750.

I would like to run them at the best speed I can (without anything beyond mild overclocking, I have a Coolermaster Hyper 212 heatsink/fan).

For the time being, I can only get my system to boot if they fall back to non-XMP speeds. There, they seem stable and happy.

I would hope, though, that I should be able to run them at their declared 2133 11-11-11-30?

My bios proposes XMP profile1 and profile2:

XMP Disabled: CPU 17x 2.72GHz, BCLK 160, Mem Freq 1600, DDR Volt 1.5, QPI 1.10,
    CAS 11, tRCD 11, tRP 11, tRAS 28

XMP profile1: CPU 14x 2.80Ghz, BCLK 200, Mem Freq 2000, DDR Volt 1.6, QPI 1.05,
    CAS 11, tRCD 10, tRP 10, tRAS 28

XMP profile2: CPU 13x 2.76Ghz, BCLK 213, Mem Freq 2130, DDR Volt 1.6, QPI 1.05,
    CAS 11, tRCD 11, tRP 11, tRAS 30

As I said, at the moment I can only get a stable boot out of XMP Disabled. Both XMP profiles seem to give several failed reboot attempts before falling back to a 1333 'overclock failed' timing.

I've searched these forums and elsewhere, and I suspect the answer lies in manually setting the right timings/volatages, but I am somewhat out of my depth with the complexities of RAM timings, so would be very greatful for any help

Cheers

Charlie