Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Downclocking Ripjaws Z (2400)

Hello!

When I was picking what components to buy for my system upgrade, I decided on getting this memory:

http://www.gskill.com/products.php?index=516&c1=&c2=

To go along with my ASUS Sabertooth z77 and i5-3570K because the product page mentioned that the memory would work great with the i5 (so I thought why not get the higher frequency memory?).

Yet today, when I got all the parts, I called up the GSkill tech guys and asked if this memory would in fact work with my mobo/cpu combo, and they said nope, not at its rated speed. Yet, they also said I could manually adjust the memory settings to lower its speed down to 2133 or 1600 and it would work.

Since I am a total newb at adjusting such settings (I was hoping to just use XMP) I stopped my build, thinking it might be best to just RMA the memory and get a kit that would work without any tweaking.

Then a friend said I should at least try to downclock and see how it works. So, would anyone happen to be familar enough with the z77 Sabertooth bios to give me an idea on how to downclock this memory kit to 2133 or 1600?

Also, would downclocking this memory be a good idea in regards to having the system be stable? I'm not going to OC the system at all.