XMP Overclocking Fail

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• XMP Overclocking Fail

I recently put together my first PC, everything went pretty smooth and got it running on default speeds (4800) but had problems trying to enable XMP (memory overclocking fail blackscreen and reset)

PC
    Windows 11 Pro
    Intel 13600K
    3070 EVGA FTW3
    MSI Z790 Tomahawk Wifi (DDR5)

Ram : F5-6000J3636F16GX2-TZ5RK (installed in A2/B2 as per manual)

I am no means an expert at overclocking, bought my motherboard mid-december.

GSkill website says this is compatible with my motherboard but I can't get it to work.

My intention is just to have RAM plug and play enable XMP to have it run at full speeds, I'm not comfortable manually tinkering around.

My only thought is that I may need to update my motherboard BIOS, but I've never done it before.

Any suggestions?
    Last edited by Kmatts10; 01-14-2023, 11:30 AM.

Make sure you are using the latest BIOS for your MSI Z790 mobo by going to the support page on MSI’s website for your product. BIOS updates continue to improve DDR5 compatibility, especially with the kit that you have. Refer to your mobo user manual or the MSI support page for instructions on how to update your BIOS. Once updated to the latest version, you should have no problem activating XMP Profile 1.

EDIT: It appears the latest BIOS version for your mobo was released on 1/6/2023. Among the fixes it lists is “improve memory compatibility.” https://us.msi.com/Motherboard/MAG-Z...K-WIFI/support
    Last edited by wdseith; 01-16-2023, 08:35 AM.

Comment