Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ripjaws V (F4-3200C16Q-32GVKB) hate Asus X99-E WS/USB3.1?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ripjaws V (F4-3200C16Q-32GVKB) hate Asus X99-E WS/USB3.1?

Hi all,

guess since I am new, short intro. My name is Sebastian, I am 37, from Germany and I work in industrial IT.

Now to my problem: Turns out my early x-mas presents to myself don't work. I bought the ASUS X99-E WS/USB3.1, an Intel 5930K and that kit mentioned in the Topic (F4-3200C16Q-32GVKB).

TL;DR; Version: Tried everything, but all sticks fail to even be detected in non-xmp single-stick-mode, code 53. Other really slow memory works. What do?

Full version:

Yes, yes, I know, motherboard and memory kit are not in each others QVL but seriously, I have been bulding rigs at home for more than 20 years and norming (e.g. JEDEC, DDR SPD) does exist. So I was under the assumption that, while XMP might need some work, at least the default SPD setting of 2133Mhz at 1.2V should work out of the box.

Well it doesn't. Not with all the modules (any order, any slots) or when testing them one-by-one, first in the ASUS designated slot for single module setups, then in any of the others. MB Code 53: No memory detected. Every. Single. Time.

I tried re-seating the CPU, checked all socket pins with a magnifying glass and made sure my waterblock does not put too much pressure onto CPU. Then, I RMA'd the board through the shop I ordered it from. RMA took some time, so now I cannot do the same with the Memory or CPU....

As you can already guess, with the replacement board it was exactly the same thing. I never had such a total failure before! I did a BIOS update to 601 from a USB stick, but, to no avail. I obviously tried the mem-ok button on the board and also the XMP switch in both positions but nawww, nothing.