Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Optimal Timings for F3-12800CL8T-6GBRM Ripjaws

Hi,

I've manually set the timings to my 6GB Ripjaws (1600Mhz cas 8) to their rated specs at 1600Mhz/8-8-8-24/2T/1.6V. Note that although the memory is rated at 2T, I can set these at 1T and they still run fine and complete memtest passes with no issues. Is there any benefit to stay within the spec'd 2T vs 1T-- longer lifespan?

Besides the 8-8-8-24/2T numbers, I've let the motherboard auto-set the other timings. I'd like to know if these are indeed the proper standard timings or if they should be tweaked?
    tRFC: 88
    tWR: 10
    tWTR: 6
    tRRD: 6
    tRTP: 6
    tFAW: 20
    B2B-CAS Delay: 0

Additionally what would be the potential range for overclocking on this set of RAM? And what would be some timings/voltage to try at these OC'd speeds? Sorry, I have no experience OC'ing ram and my few attempts at doing so left the system unstable.

Thanks for any input!

System Specs:
    i7 930 @ 3.8Ghz / 200 x 19 / 4x Memory Ratio to allow for 1600Mhz
    - note that if I sacrifice some memory freq. speed, I can also get a stable 3.8Ghz at 181 x 21 and 190 x 20. Other than heat being an issue for my air cooling, I can reach 4-4.2Ghz fine on this board so I'm open for any settings for those speeds as well but 3.8Ghz is my 24/7 setup.
    MSI Big Bang XPower motherboard / BIOS v1.2
    Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit
    Corsair HX750W PSU
    Last edited by granite; 09-11-2010, 06:54 PM.

Running your command rate at 1T/2T or even 3T will not have any detrimental affects on your memory one way or another. Just choose the command rate your memory can run at with 100% stability and you're set. The lower the number the better for best performance, but even then you won't notice/feel any difference one way or another. You can see the affect of the command rate changes in synthetic benchmarks, but that's about it.