Asus P7P55D Pro not compatible with F312800CL7D-4GBRH

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Asus P7P55D Pro not compatible with F312800CL7D-4GBRH

I have been building systems for myself for many years, with few problems. But recently, like many others, I have been frustrated by compatibility problems with a new build.

The main components are:

Asus P7P55D Pro - with latest 1207 Bios and updated chipset drivers.
    Intel i7 860 with Coolermaster 212+
    2x2Gb G Skill F312800CL7D-4GBRH
    Antec Truepower 650 PSU
    WD Black hard drive
    Radeon 4890
    Windows 7 Home Prem 64 bit

I have spent several weeks trying to overcome BSODs, boot failures and cold boot problems, without ever getting as far as installing any other software.

Using XMP setting in Bios, both modules installed for dual channel, everything else on auto, standard CPU clock settings, - Result - boot failure loops or blue memory related system failure screens. Very occasional boot into windows after going through windows repair process.

Tried manual timings using 1333 or 1600 at 7 7 7 24 2T or 8 8 8 24 2T or 9 9 9 24 2T at voltages from 1.6 to 1.65 All produce same results.

I have reinstalled windows 3 times with no improvement.

When I can achieve a boot into windows and then shut down, the system will usually start successfully, and this can be repeated a few times, but then the blue screens re appear.

Both memory modules show zero errows on repeated memtest runs.

The system will only run with any stability with one memory module installed, in slot 1. Like this I can run reasonably stable at 19x200 giving overclock to 3.8 with memory at 1600. Either memory module will work like this.

For info voltages at this overclock are memory at 1.6, vcore 1.28, imc 1.2