G.SKILL TECH FORUM

Go Back   G.SKILL TECH FORUM ? General Discussion ? Overclocking ? Intel Socket LGA 1150, 1155 and 1156

Intel Socket LGA 1150, 1155 and 1156 Intel i5, i7, Extreme Series CPUs ~ Intel P67 / Z68 / Z77 / Z87 chip sets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-24-2012, 03:27 PM
GSKILL TECH's Avatar
GSKILL TECH GSKILL TECH is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 11,615
GSKILL TECH has disabled reputation
Default

F3-2800C11D-8GTXD

MasterPMI,

You may have to raise timings, DRAM voltage, and/or VCCSA Voltage.

As you can see, 2 x 4GB DDR3-2800 CL11, VCCSA is already 1.25V minimum.

Thank you
GSKILL TECH
__________________
Are you an overclocker? Have screen shots of your OC results? Please post and share your OC experience!

The new G.Skill Overclocking Section!

http://www.gskill.us/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=43
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-24-2012, 05:46 PM
MasterPMI MasterPMI is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
MasterPMI is getting a feel for overclocking
Default

Correct.

I set the timings 11-13-13-35 T2
Voltage to DRAM 1.65 - VCCSA to 1.25. tried to rais ethese both 1 etetings, so DRAM 1.66 even 1.67 and the VCCSA up to 1.26875 even, and no go.

With the Bus @ 100.0 I can post @ 2400.
Pick 2600, can not even post.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-24-2012, 06:50 PM
Tradesman's Avatar
Tradesman Tradesman is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15,151
Tradesman is a Multi-Tasking MadmanTradesman is a Multi-Tasking MadmanTradesman is a Multi-Tasking MadmanTradesman is a Multi-Tasking Madman
Default

What CPU are you running? 2400 is about tops for a 3570K amd have seen some 3770K that can't go higher either, could try 12-13-13-34, 1.7, with VCCSA 1.25 and VTT 1.21 for 2600/2666
__________________


Pls offer comments on support I provide, HERE, in order to help me do a better job here:

Tman
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-25-2012, 09:44 AM
MasterPMI MasterPMI is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
MasterPMI is getting a feel for overclocking
Angry re

Sry,

Asus Maximus v Formula Bios 701
intel I7 - 3770k @4.6 100x46 right now trying to get the mem to OC.
Gskill - Trident X 2400 8GBx4 (2 disabled in Bios while trying to OC.) I can run this at 10-11-11-30 T2 @2400 without issue, when loosening up this I should be able to get higher, but its not happening.
OCZ 1250 ZX PSU
Win 7 Ult. on 2x OCZ 120GB V3 ssd, raid 0.

Will try this tonight: try 12-13-13-34, 1.7, with VCCSA 1.25 and VTT 1.21 What really bothers me is when it fails, it will not even post and I have to go to the back and reset/clear the Cmos. And then sometimes it ends up deleting my Saved Bios'- thought that is Asus issue. none the less this is when it really upsets me that I paid top dollar for this memory (and the Setup even) and cant get anywhere with it.

Last edited by MasterPMI; 10-25-2012 at 09:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-25-2012, 10:04 AM
Tradesman's Avatar
Tradesman Tradesman is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15,151
Tradesman is a Multi-Tasking MadmanTradesman is a Multi-Tasking MadmanTradesman is a Multi-Tasking MadmanTradesman is a Multi-Tasking Madman
Default

DRAM today is not like DRAM of old, especially the higher freq, higher density sticks. Tolerences are very tight and though I've been able to OC just about every set of sticks of GSkill I've had, there have been some that just wouldn't go. That's one reason you are starting to see more sets at somewhat odd freqs i.e. 2600/2666. These days it seems to be best to go with what you'll want or higher, and then if say the CPU can't carry higher (and some 3770Ks can't carry higher than 2400, just like some 3570Ks can't even hit 2400) then you can downclock.
__________________


Pls offer comments on support I provide, HERE, in order to help me do a better job here:

Tman
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-27-2012, 07:15 PM
MasterPMI MasterPMI is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
MasterPMI is getting a feel for overclocking
Default re

Tradesman,

Can you explain to me, how a CPU, at the Same BLCK/FSB/QPI can NOT handle memory being run with a higher ratio?

This is not logical.

if the CPU and the Memory are ALWAYS a factor of each other (and have been) that the CPU is the bottle neck for RAM's multiplier.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-05-2012, 03:41 PM
Tradesman's Avatar
Tradesman Tradesman is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15,151
Tradesman is a Multi-Tasking MadmanTradesman is a Multi-Tasking MadmanTradesman is a Multi-Tasking MadmanTradesman is a Multi-Tasking Madman
Default

Sorry I missed this, can't explain it other than the sticks and/or the CPU is topped out. As I mentioned, I've been able to OC most all DRAM I've ever used, but some just wouldn't go
__________________


Pls offer comments on support I provide, HERE, in order to help me do a better job here:

Tman
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All rights reserved. Copyright 1989-2013, G.Skill International Enterprise