G.SKILL TECH FORUM

Go Back   G.SKILL TECH FORUM ? General Discussion ? General Discussion

General Discussion Any general hardware or software discussion is welcome

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2012, 08:13 PM
Tradesman's Avatar
Tradesman Tradesman is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15,151
Tradesman is a Multi-Tasking MadmanTradesman is a Multi-Tasking MadmanTradesman is a Multi-Tasking MadmanTradesman is a Multi-Tasking Madman
Default Misconceptions from CPU-Z

Items and misconceptions about DRAM and CPU-Z:

There are two tabs in CPU-Z that primarily relate to DRAM, the Memory tab and the SPD tab, the Memory tab identifies the "Type" i.e. DDR3, "Channels #" i.e. the number of memory channels run " 1-Single, 2-Dual, 3-Tri, 4-Quad, and "Size" i.e. total amount of DRAM, say 16384 for 16GB. Next it goes to a window it refers to as "Timings" and starts with probably the most misinterpreted item, that being "DRAM Frequency", many people see what's shown in the box and get all upset, i.e. they may have 1600 DRAM and it shows 800, or they have 1866 and it shows 933 or 933.6 (yes odd ball fractions often show up) The reason for this is that it shows the DRAMs true frequency, but since it is DDR (DOUBLE Data Rate) that freq is has to be multiplied times two to find what the sticks are truly running at or with the above examples 800 x 2 = 1600, 933 x 2 = 1866.

The other most common misconception comes in the SPD Tab of CPU-Z. In addition to other info provided, CPU-Z has a window they call "Max Bandwidth" which is one of the biggest misconceptions/myths/whatever there is on DRAM. Many people swear up and down that the software identifies the actual chips as being of a certain speed (most common 1066, 1333 and 1600) and identifies the sticks by the actual chips, and go on to say that if they are sold as 2133 they are really only 1333 or 1600 and have been OCed. NOT TRUE!, what shows up in the Max Bandwidth, comes from the SPD on the sticks and is the default boot designation for the sticks, that is the section of the SPD the BIOS looks at and tries to correspond to upon initial boot up or after a BIOS/CMOS rest. It has nothing to do with the actual chips used. If not for this area of the SPD, higher freq sticks wouldn?t be able to boot up by themselves, i.e. no mobo has a default of 1866, 2133, 2200, 2400, 2600, so if not for these default SPD settings you couldn?t ever get into the BIOS.

If this isn't clear to anyone, give a shout and I will try and explain it better.
__________________


Pls offer comments on support I provide, HERE, in order to help me do a better job here:

Tman

Last edited by Tradesman; 02-11-2014 at 04:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-15-2012, 01:29 PM
Britton30's Avatar
Britton30 Britton30 is offline
Harware Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Mt Crumpit
Posts: 183
Britton30 is on top of his gameBritton30 is on top of his game
Default

Thanks Tman, good to know about the Max Bandwidth number.
__________________
I'm sorry Dave, I can't do that.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-18-2012, 07:49 PM
Intelguy's Avatar
Intelguy Intelguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 40
Intelguy is a highly advanced overclockerIntelguy is a highly advanced overclocker
Default

Nice explanation, this is a major misconception that even many IT professionals are unaware of.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-20-2012, 05:31 PM
essenbe essenbe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NW Florida
Posts: 56
essenbe is familiar with all BIOS settings
Default

Very good explanation. Well done.
__________________
i7-3770K - Asus Z77 Maximus V Extreme- 16GB G Skill Trident X 2400 - EVGA GTX 780 Classified -Corsair AX 1200i -256GB Samsung 830- 2 X Samsung 256 GB 840 Pro - XSPC RX360 - Alphacool UT60 360mm - D5 Pump - Phanteks Enthoo Primo Case

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-08-2012, 07:42 PM
aim54x aim54x is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 87
aim54x is knowledgeable to help others
Default

Nice post...I found those all out the hard way a long time ago
__________________
AMD Phenom II x4 965 BE
Noctua NH-U9B SE2
Asus M4A89GTD Pro USB3
G. Skill Ares 16GB F3-1866C10D-16GAB @1600 9-9-9-24
Samsung 830 Series 256GB SSD
XFX Radeon HD 5850 Black Edition
Corsair HX850
Antec 900
Winidows 7 -64bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-08-2012, 08:26 PM
Tradesman's Avatar
Tradesman Tradesman is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15,151
Tradesman is a Multi-Tasking MadmanTradesman is a Multi-Tasking MadmanTradesman is a Multi-Tasking MadmanTradesman is a Multi-Tasking Madman
Default

Just one of my many pet peeves, though it amazes me you go to some of the other forums and there are still tons of supposed 'Pros' that still think that is the actual freq of the ICs and that the manufacturers are pushing/OCing them.....that would be outstanding if one could take a stock IC rated 1333 and run it at 2800 w/ just an extra 0.15 or so voltage wise....oh well, we will keep trying to educate people
__________________


Pls offer comments on support I provide, HERE, in order to help me do a better job here:

Tman
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-10-2014, 05:08 PM
ElChicoMasLindo ElChicoMasLindo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
ElChicoMasLindo is reading into overclocking
Exclamation About cpu-z

i have 2x8 gb 1866 MHz pc3-14900 and i saw ur explication but what about MAX BANDWITH information in SPD tab menú cpu-z it says pc3-10700 ( 667mhz) =/ . . . . however in the bios settings menú it seems to be all okay with correct frequency 1866mhz but . . . i cant find yet where to configure in the Bios settings the spec of PC3-14900 ( have maximus vi formula ) sorry for my spanglish im from Peru :v answer me plss x)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-10-2014, 05:15 PM
ElChicoMasLindo ElChicoMasLindo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
ElChicoMasLindo is reading into overclocking
Default

what about MAX WANDWITH information?? it says pc3-10700 667 MHz =S however in bios settings it seems to be all okay at correct frequency 1866 MHz and how can i configure correctly in bios my pc3-14900 ( i have 2x8 gb ripjawx 1866 MHz , maximus vi formula )
pd: how can i add images from my snapshoot?? it request for an url =S
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-10-2014, 05:33 PM
essenbe essenbe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NW Florida
Posts: 56
essenbe is familiar with all BIOS settings
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElChicoMasLindo View Post
what about MAX WANDWITH information?? it says pc3-10700 667 MHz =S however in bios settings it seems to be all okay at correct frequency 1866 MHz and how can i configure correctly in bios my pc3-14900 ( i have 2x8 gb ripjawx 1866 MHz , maximus vi formula )
pd: how can i add images from my snapshoot?? it request for an url =S
Max Bandwidth from Tradesman's description
Quote:
what shows up in the Max Bandwidth, comes from the SPD on the sticks and is the default boot designation for the sticks, that is the section of the SPD the BIOS looks at and tries to correspond to upon initial boot up or after a BIOS/CMOS rest. It has nothing to do with the actual chips used.
Basically all that is, is telling the computer what to boot with before you have had a chance to set the correct timings and frequency in BIOS. To set your timings,in advanced mode, in Extreme Tweaker set AI Overclock Tuner to XMP and it should set everything for you, or you can set it to manual and set everything yourself. Under Dram timing control, set the timings that are on the sticks of ram, in memory frequency set them to what yours state. You said 1866, set them at that and under dram voltage set the voltage which is also on the ram sticks as well as the package they came in.

If you want a picture of the bios screen, put a USB flash drive in the computer, boot into BIOS and on any page, press F12 and it will put a picture of what you are looking at on the USB flash drive.

To put an image in a post here, use a photo hosting web site like Photobucket or image shack and put the picture there, then get the URL and place it here.

I'm pretty sure those things work the same on the Maximus VI as they do on the Maximus V.
__________________
i7-3770K - Asus Z77 Maximus V Extreme- 16GB G Skill Trident X 2400 - EVGA GTX 780 Classified -Corsair AX 1200i -256GB Samsung 830- 2 X Samsung 256 GB 840 Pro - XSPC RX360 - Alphacool UT60 360mm - D5 Pump - Phanteks Enthoo Primo Case


Last edited by essenbe; 02-10-2014 at 05:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-10-2014, 05:44 PM
aim54x aim54x is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 87
aim54x is knowledgeable to help others
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElChicoMasLindo View Post
what about MAX WANDWITH information?? it says pc3-10700 667 MHz =S however in bios settings it seems to be all okay at correct frequency 1866 MHz and how can i configure correctly in bios my pc3-14900 ( i have 2x8 gb ripjawx 1866 MHz , maximus vi formula )
pd: how can i add images from my snapshoot?? it request for an url =S
Ignore the MAX BANDWIDTH information, it only shows the DEFAULT boot configuration of your RAM.

If your BIOS is reading 1866 go to the "memory" tab and under "timings" it will show 933Mhz.

I am not familiar with your particular motherboard + BIOS but you should be able to use the XMP setting for your RAM to achieve 1866 as per manufacturer spec. Otherwise you will have to manually overclock the RAM using the "tested latency" or timings (find the right set here).

You may have to refer to your motherboard manual as well to find the right place to adjust your RAM timings.
__________________
AMD Phenom II x4 965 BE
Noctua NH-U9B SE2
Asus M4A89GTD Pro USB3
G. Skill Ares 16GB F3-1866C10D-16GAB @1600 9-9-9-24
Samsung 830 Series 256GB SSD
XFX Radeon HD 5850 Black Edition
Corsair HX850
Antec 900
Winidows 7 -64bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All rights reserved. Copyright ©1989-2013, G.Skill International Enterprise