Screw stuck in Motherboard Standoff [HELP]

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Screw stuck in Motherboard Standoff [HELP]

I have spent countless of hours trying to get this darn screw out of this mobo. I got this computer in a trade and wanted to clean it all out and noticed one of the screws stuck in the standoff.
    I have never used a dremel before so I'm guessing that is my only other option. I have tried using needle nose pliers and regular pliers at the same time to extract but failed many times.

Here are a couple pictures I took so you can determine what I need to do:

Model of the motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P (rev. 1.6) Bios ver. FD 2009/11/24
    Model of the memory: G.SKILL F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK (4x2GB / 8GB total)
    Model of the CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
    Last edited by Jbrizzel; 04-19-2012, 03:34 PM.

Screw does not turn with pliers? You need some good gripping pliers to get a hold of each end and they should unscrew right out..

With all those scratches and marks, looks like you're not getting control.

Thank you
    GSKILL TECH

Comment

Originally posted by GSKILL TECH View Post
      Screw does not turn with pliers? You need some good gripping pliers to get a hold of each end and they should unscrew right out..

With all those scratches and marks, looks like you're not getting control.

Thank you
      GSKILL TECH
      Yeah, the screw would not turn at all. So I get a better set of gripping pliers and try to twist out with a regular screw driver?

Comment

The screw looks stripped in the picture, so you may need to use something else like locking pliers to get proper grip.

You can use a dremel too.. but just be very careful.

Thank you
        GSKILL TECH

Comment