New build, AMD Gigabyte X570 Elite, AMD 3700X

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New build, AMD Gigabyte X570 Elite, AMD 3700X

I am in the process of putting together a parts list for a new build and need some advice on memory. This is my first build since an AMD 975 several years ago (2010 I think), which had become very slow with advances in the Linux OS and software I run.
    Motherboard choice is Gigabyte X570 AORUS ELITE, but not dead set on it, I've just had good experience with Gigabyte for the last 4 builds. Processor will be 3700X.
    I want to run 2X16 modules for video and photo editing and I see that the F4-3200C14D-32GTZ** kit is on the QVL list, which is fine, but in research, I see that a 3600 CL16 kit would provide the same performance at a lower cost. Trouble being, G.Skill is not on the QVL for that spec. although some of their other X570 boards do. Do you think it is worth a gamble or should I just spring for the CL14 kit?

Thanks in advance,

Steve

Just be sure that you buy the memory that has the "X" at the end as this is special for the AMD Ryzen CPU or you will have a delay in your boot prior to booting up in BIOS.

Comment

Lower latency ram is always a better choice for AMD or any system.. That is probably Samsung B-die, D/E Die. But if it was me I would shell out a little more money and get the better-binned ram.

I'm not sure what TechyMike is talking about. NEO is their latest and it is also made for AMD. There is no "X" in their SKU numbers as well. All my G.Skill works fine with AMD. (Except the RGB controlling. It is complete garbage.)There is no delay in the boot or getting into the bios. I will wait for you to clarify what you mean.

Originally posted by TechyMike View Post
      Just be sure that you buy the memory that has the "X" at the end as this is special for the AMD Ryzen CPU or you will have a delay in your boot prior to booting up in BIOS.

Comment