G.SKILL TECH FORUM

Go Back   G.SKILL TECH FORUM ? Product Discussion ? DDR3 ? BIOS Configuration for INTEL Motherboards

BIOS Configuration for INTEL Motherboards Discuss BIOS/EFI Configuration for specific INTEL motherboards

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2013, 11:22 PM
yann.queniart yann.queniart is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 8
yann.queniart is reading into overclocking
Default F3-12800CL10-8GBXL + i7-4770 + GA-Z87X-UD5TH

Hello, i have build my computer last week with these part :
- Gigabyte Z87X-UD5TH Rev 1.1
- Gigabyte R9 280x Windforce
- 4x8Go de RAM G Skill, ref : F3-12800CL10-8GBXL
- i7-4770

All the computer freeze after a short or long moment. That can append after 5 minutes or after 12 hours. For the moment never past 24h of uptime.

I have read on some forum this is a problem when 4 sticks of memory are installed.

I have try some configuration without success :
- boost voltage (1,55 1,60 1,65)
- with XMP or not.
- Down frequency to 1333Mhz

Actually i have 21 hours of uptime (new record) with the option Memory stability mode Enhanced Stability (normal mode is : Normal), i think with that the motherboard under clock the FSB.

Somebody have the same problem ? There is a particular configuration to do ?

For information my main goal is not overclocking, it is stability and long time life of the computer because it is a working computer.

Best regards
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-09-2013, 05:03 AM
yann.queniart yann.queniart is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 8
yann.queniart is reading into overclocking
Default

Hello, I have make memtest and I have some errors.

The best way for test memory is to use de default settings XMP profil, 1,5V ?

The memory stick have only 4 days.

The problem can come from the motherboard or memory error can come only from memory sticks ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-09-2013, 05:48 AM
supahos's Avatar
supahos supahos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 378
supahos is familiar with all BIOS settings
Default

your best bet is to enable xmp, manually raise voltage to 1.55v, and then run the test, but memtest is actually only for testing one stick at time. You mixed two kits and this is always a possibilty when you do so. Ensure you have the matching pairs in the same colored slots, not beside eachother as this could help stability. but it "should" work if you run them at higher voltage. I may have misread your post however. Did you buy 4 single sticks and are now running 32gb of 4 kits? this could even cause more issues you'll have to play with settings to see if you can get it stable.
__________________
ASUS P8Z77-V LK / I5 3350P / 2X F3-12800CL9D-8GBRL Running @ 1866mhz / MSI GTX760 TF
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2013, 11:33 PM
yann.queniart yann.queniart is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 8
yann.queniart is reading into overclocking
Default

Yes it is 4 8Gb single kit running in 32Gb.

If i understand only 32Gb kit should work correctly out of box ?

I have try boost voltage without success. Max i have try 1,65V

Actually i have try various situations : only 1 stick, 2 stick on same channel, 2 stick on dual channel mode. Only one crash when 2 stick are on channel B. With 3 or 4 sticks it is not stable various crash.

I have try every stick individually and they work correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2013, 04:38 AM
supahos's Avatar
supahos supahos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 378
supahos is familiar with all BIOS settings
Default

So if you only lut sticks in channel B it crashes? Have you tried the slots that make up channel b with one stick by themselves? You might have a bad slot... as for 32 gigs just working out of the box... well ummm 32 gb kit probably would have, once you buy 4 singles you've lowered those chances significantly. There is a reason 4x8gb kits cost more than 4 8gb sticks... testing has to be done in order to ensure all 4 work together.if channel b will boot on both slots alone then i suspect your sticks just dont like eachother. If they wont, ensure the slot is clean, if it is check the cpu socket for bent pins
__________________
ASUS P8Z77-V LK / I5 3350P / 2X F3-12800CL9D-8GBRL Running @ 1866mhz / MSI GTX760 TF
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-16-2013, 06:03 AM
yann.queniart yann.queniart is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 8
yann.queniart is reading into overclocking
Default

Thank you for you help.

I have tested each slot individually with each stick individually. I can say all slot work and all stick work alone.

I have checked pins and nothing bent. I think channel A et B work because stick alone work so i have tested the two channels.

I have tested 2 x 8Gb on each channel and no crash after 35h so i think the two channels work and channel synchronisation work.

Only one crash with 2 sticks on channel B but only one and can't reproduce the problem.

The only last solution is the 4 sticks don't want work together. Perhaps need more power, i have try boost dram voltage to 1,65V without success but no other voltage parameters.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-16-2013, 06:06 AM
supahos's Avatar
supahos supahos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 378
supahos is familiar with all BIOS settings
Default

It may not be possible at all, but I would try setting the dram voltage to 1.55v (I know you tried higher but its not the only thing to change) additionally try raising the VCCSA .1v above whatever it is set to right now see if that helps. This is the memory controller voltage and could help stabilize things. My final suggestion (if this doesn't work) is to ebay the 4 sticks separately and buy yourself a 4x8gb kit. This will actually work together.
__________________
ASUS P8Z77-V LK / I5 3350P / 2X F3-12800CL9D-8GBRL Running @ 1866mhz / MSI GTX760 TF
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-16-2013, 07:40 AM
yann.queniart yann.queniart is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 8
yann.queniart is reading into overclocking
Default

OK, i will try this.

I have find max value on over clocker forum System Agent +0,23, CPU I/O +0,2.

Actually i try gently with DRAM 1,55V, System Agent +0,5V and CPU I/O +0,5V.

If don't work i will put little more power.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-16-2013, 08:04 AM
supahos's Avatar
supahos supahos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 378
supahos is familiar with all BIOS settings
Default

Additionally if you haven't already update your bios, forgot if you had already done that or not, but it can help memory stability issues. I'm jumping between several places right now didn't have time to reread everything, if you already have ignore this post
__________________
ASUS P8Z77-V LK / I5 3350P / 2X F3-12800CL9D-8GBRL Running @ 1866mhz / MSI GTX760 TF
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-16-2013, 10:34 AM
yann.queniart yann.queniart is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 8
yann.queniart is reading into overclocking
Default

They is only one bios F2 for the motherboard, i have find F3c beta bios but don't solve my issue.

I have try +0,05, +0,1, +0,15 for VCCSA, VCCIO et DRAM but not better.

I think i will change my memory for a validate kit gigabyte, no other choice.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All rights reserved. Copyright 1989-2013, G.Skill International Enterprise