Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Quest to stabilize 2133 w/ASRock Z68 Extreme 4 Gen 3

Hi Tradesman / GSkill Tech
    This rig 2500K@4.4ghz (rock solid even at 4.8ghz) / HSF H100 max load temps 60-64c / MB ASRock Z68 Ext4 Gen3 bios1.10 (newest non-beta) / GSkill F3-17000CL11D-8GBXL.

Been a steady GSkill promoter since 2005 and the 939/Opteron OC craze and receiving my 1st hand picked/binned DDR500 (New 283 4m passed) sticks from LA/GSkill. I'm no expert, but I've been around the block a few times OC'ing ram. If you remember Oscar Woo and the DFI Lanparty bios options for ram tweaking then you know what I mean! ... In all that time I've never had to RMA any ram from GSkill! I thought I may have finally run into a weaker than spec'd kit, AND initially could not get the sticks to boot with the XMP profile. After hours of testing manually setting timings/volts combinations(4-6hrs), I finally gave up @2133 and settled on stability @ 1866, not the speck'd 2133, I ran accross a fairly simple solution while reading up at GSkills Forum, something we use to do in the "old days", but was contrary to ASRocks recommendation for initial set/boot-up ...

XMP finally booted when I switched DIMM slots from A1/B1 to A2/B2 - manually set ram voltages 1.65v / VCCSA - 1.107v VTT 1.5v? Passed all my prelim tests/benches (HyperPi 1m/8m LinX short runs/3DMark/Heaven/Crysis benches) ... WTF problem solved right? ...

BUT NOOO P95 still failed within minutes It was so stable in the other tests, I thought I had it solved ... I'm maxed at DRAM volts (1.65v) and really don't like it that high, guess i could raise VTT more? VCCSA more? BUT what exactly does this do? Could go back to manual timings greater than spec'd (12-12-12 :O), but that's not what you pay a premium for? Oh well here goes my 1st RMA with GSkill ...