Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

GA-F2A88XN-WIFI (Incompatible memory Kit)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GA-F2A88XN-WIFI (Incompatible memory Kit)

Hi, everyone I would appreciate any help/suggestions you could give me. I am a noob when it comes to over clocking and memory kit manual setup. I have built many gaming systems over the years. I forgot to look at the compatibility list for my mother board I have never had this issue before.

My Rig:
    Gigabyte (GA-F2A88XN-Wifi) motherboard (DDR3 32gig max memory, 2133mhz )
    AMD (A10 7850K) 4.0 GHZ max turbo 95w FM2+ socket
    G.Skill (Snipper F3-2133C10D-16GSR (CL 10-12-12-31 1.6v))
    Silverstone SFX 450 watts PSU

Problem:
    My memory kit is showing up in Bios and CPU-Z as physically being there. The memory kit will not stabilize. It shows up as 8gig single channel or 16gig Duel channel. 16gig dual channel kit may work for a while and then freeze up and when I reboot, it shows up as 8gig single channel. I have no problem reaching my target speed of 2133mhz. I have not tried any lower speeds.

What I have tried:
    1. Replaced motherboard (Same Model)– no change
    2. Moved ram around to different slots – Both work fine in single mode
    3. Installed ram individually - Both work fine in single mode
    4. I have tried XMT settings – no change

I am assuming I should be able to setup the 16gig memory kit manually and not use auto settings set by the Bios. I am putting my system together on a tight budget and I would like to get the 16gig kit to work if possible.

Try increasing CPU-NB Voltage to see if that improves stability. The memory should be installed in the same color slots furthest away from the CPU.

Thank you
    GSKILL TECH

Comment

I will give it a try. I will do some home work to find out how to change the core-nb in the Bios. Is there a max voltage? Thx

Comment