G.SKILL TECH FORUM

Go Back   G.SKILL TECH FORUM ? General Discussion ? Overclocking ? Intel Socket LGA 2011, 2011-v3, 2066

Intel Socket LGA 2011, 2011-v3, 2066 Intel i7, Extreme Series CPUs ~ Intel X79, X99, X299 chip sets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-11-2015, 01:29 PM
XxAlbertoxX XxAlbertoxX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6
XxAlbertoxX is reading into overclocking
Default Cannot get Ripsjaws (Model F4-3000C15D-16GRBB) to run at 3000MHz XMP speed

I have an Intel i7 5820k at 4.6Ghz speed with 1.305vcore. The motherboard is AsRock Extreme4 x99.

I crash when I put it on "XMP Profile".

I tried increasing DRAM voltage to 1.36, then 1.37, 1.38 then 1.39 and 1.4 (I stopped at 1.4 because I heard this was max voltage). I got further with 1.39 voltage and actually got to the "enter password for windows" screen when all other times I crashed before this.

I tried increasing System Agent Voltage to +0.600 (max) but still crashed.

Is there anything I can do to run 4.6ghz with my 5820k AND get the RAM to run at 3000Mhz or does the CPU overclock cause instability?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-15-2015, 10:55 AM
GSKILL TECH's Avatar
GSKILL TECH GSKILL TECH is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 12,956
GSKILL TECH has disabled reputation
Default

Why would you change System Agent Voltage to max? Too much excess voltage can also cause instability.

CPU overclock causes more stress on the processor so it can slightly reduce frequency. As long as the settings are correct, there should be no instability.
__________________
Are you an overclocker? Have screen shots of your OC results? Please post and share your OC experience!

The new G.Skill Overclocking Section!

http://www.gskill.us/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=43
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-16-2015, 03:28 PM
XxAlbertoxX XxAlbertoxX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6
XxAlbertoxX is reading into overclocking
Default

I tried a lower system agent voltage. It's not even a manual voltage input on my ASRock Extreme 4 motherboard. It's simply an offset. The max offset is only 0.600+. I tried other values that were lower too, like 0.300 and it didn't do anything.

It says in the motherboard BIOS "to increase system agent voltage when overclocking ram to aid in stability" and also Linus recommended it in a 5820k overclocking video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nj4ixZE7EWo

The CPU is overclock to 4.6ghz @ 1.305 and it ran AIDA64 stress testing fine. No blue no black screens and temperatures are below 80C.

The CPU is fine, but the RAM is simply not working at it's rated 3000MHz with that CPU overclock. WHen I put the CPU overclock to stock, the RAM XMP profile worked just fine.

If you google it, there's alot of people that cannot run ram higher than 2133MHz with a higher CPU overclock, I just figured you could help me but it seems you don't quite understand the issue or aren't technological proficient.

Is there a professional that can help me? I can provide screen shots, video, or any documentation to convey my issue if needed. I will go run MemTest86 now to see if the GSKILL passes.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-16-2015, 05:37 PM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 917
emissary42 is setting World Recordsemissary42 is setting World Recordsemissary42 is setting World Records
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XxAlbertoxX
WHen I put the CPU overclock to stock, the RAM XMP profile worked just fine.
Then probably everything is alright and it is only a problem of your OC settings. The explanation:

When you enable the XMP it is possible that the mainboard sets a strap and/or raises the reference clock. So if your CPU is already overclocked with manual clock ratios, it then gets overclocked further beyond stability. In order to keep CPU clocks at your target value, you have to factor in the strap + BCLK increase and reduce the CPU ratios accordingly. If i remember correctly the ASRock UEFI does preview the effective clock rates for the CPU cores, cache and memory with a strap enabled.

A decent OC guide probably contains a paragraph on strap usage to achieve higher memory ratios and their impact. I personally can't provide you with any screenshots since i completely skipped LGA2011-3, so maybe look around for that information yourself =)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All rights reserved. Copyright 1989-2013, G.Skill International Enterprise