G.SKILL TECH FORUM

Go Back   G.SKILL TECH FORUM ? General Discussion ? Overclocking ? Intel Socket LGA 2011, 2011-v3, 2066

Intel Socket LGA 2011, 2011-v3, 2066 Intel i7, Extreme Series CPUs ~ Intel X79, X99, X299 chip sets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2014, 03:43 AM
Chris33 Chris33 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Bordeaux, France
Posts: 5
Chris33 is reading into overclocking
Question ASUS Sabertooth X79 + i7-4820K + F3-2133C10Q-16GZM

Hi all,

I'm a French man who have, for the first ever time, assembled a new PC 2 weeks ago with new and used stuff, bought to private individuals.
Based on the same motherboard (that's why I'm using this topic and didn't create another one) : Asus Sabertooth X79, it runs an Intel i7 4820K and the G.Skill F3-2133C10Q-16GZM with Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bits.

I'm a total beginner with overclocking and I've just enabled the XMP mode in the BIOS (ver. 4701).
Here are all the settings automatically changed :


So, all was running very good till last Sunday.
My computer started to get slow, with weird displays ended up with no responses at all. Only the cursor was still moving but I couldn't do anything except pressing 'Reset' button.
And I got this report :


I've lost my keyboard's profiles ...
I had the same issue yesterday (once a day !) and this morning, I thought it was happening because of some weird displays again (I guess it's a part of the top of my browser (Firefox) that is blue and there is a blue rectangle appearing around the personal bar with favorites and/or a rectangle appearing on the Windows taskbar with semi-transparency).

I'm used to monitor my temperature stuff on my old G15's LCD screen with free softwares while playing BF4.
Yesterday evening, after 1 hour playing, I got only 30fps whereas I usually have 200 and the temperatures were cooling down !
Maybe, I would record voltage data and check the RAM individually.

So, could you please tell me what I have to check to solve this issue ?

Last edited by Chris33; 10-29-2014 at 03:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2014, 04:20 PM
GSKILL TECH's Avatar
GSKILL TECH GSKILL TECH is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 12,956
GSKILL TECH has disabled reputation
Default

Hi Chris

Double check settings in BIOS/EFI. Test one module at a time to see if they all pass smoothly. If so, try them all together again.

Let us know the result!
__________________
Are you an overclocker? Have screen shots of your OC results? Please post and share your OC experience!

The new G.Skill Overclocking Section!

http://www.gskill.us/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=43
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-31-2014, 04:18 AM
Chris33 Chris33 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Bordeaux, France
Posts: 5
Chris33 is reading into overclocking
Default

Hi Admin,

What do you mean with double check settings in BIOS/EFI ?
What do you want me to especially check ? Which values ?

I've tested one module at a time and all together with Windows Memory Diagnostics Tool, with Standard tests and no problems have been detected.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-31-2014, 02:57 PM
GSKILL TECH's Avatar
GSKILL TECH GSKILL TECH is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 12,956
GSKILL TECH has disabled reputation
Default

So are you still having a problem? The first thing to check when that happens is whether the settings are correct and what they should be at.

If they are correct, and the modules are good, there's no reason they can't be stable.
__________________
Are you an overclocker? Have screen shots of your OC results? Please post and share your OC experience!

The new G.Skill Overclocking Section!

http://www.gskill.us/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=43
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-01-2014, 05:30 AM
Chris33 Chris33 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Bordeaux, France
Posts: 5
Chris33 is reading into overclocking
Default

- Are the settings correct ?
- I think so !


- What should they be at ?


- Are you still having a problem ?
- Sir, yes Sir ! Yesterday, while I was among a lot of opened windows !

Quote:
If they are correct, and the modules are good, there's no reason they can't be stable.
- And yet ...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-14-2014, 03:49 AM
Chris33 Chris33 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Bordeaux, France
Posts: 5
Chris33 is reading into overclocking
Default

So it happened again, 3 times since the 2 last weeks.
Last time was yesterday evening, after having run good all day long and shutting it down, it took me 30 minutes when rebooting after 2 hours off, to get a stable system because it wasn't an evident crash : getting slow, not all the icons on the desktop and Win8 inactive (no reaction when pointing cursor in the bottom right) and finally an evident crash after 15 secondes playing BF4 !
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-14-2014, 10:13 AM
GSKILL TECH's Avatar
GSKILL TECH GSKILL TECH is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 12,956
GSKILL TECH has disabled reputation
Default

SPD is not what the memory is operating. Post screen shots of Memory tab.

Do you have the latest BIOS/EFI?

Check one module at a time, memtest or stress test to see if they work properly.
__________________
Are you an overclocker? Have screen shots of your OC results? Please post and share your OC experience!

The new G.Skill Overclocking Section!

http://www.gskill.us/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=43
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All rights reserved. Copyright 1989-2013, G.Skill International Enterprise