G.SKILL TECH FORUM

Go Back   G.SKILL TECH FORUM ? General Discussion ? Overclocking ? AMD Socket AM2+, AM3, AM3+, AM4

AMD Socket AM2+, AM3, AM3+, AM4 AMD Ryzen, Phenom II, FX, Athlon II CPUs ~ AMD A320, B350, X370, 880 / 890-FX / 970 / 990-FX chip sets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-26-2017, 06:23 AM
Decim8r Decim8r is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 6
Decim8r is reading into overclocking
Default Ryzen PC 3200 Memory Speed Issues

My current build:
- Ryzen 1700X CPU
- Asus ROG Crosshair VI Hero MB (BIOS 1002)
- GSkill Flare-X 16GB (2x8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 F4-3200C14D-16GFX
- NZXT Kraken x62 AIO

So I picked these beauties up from NewEgg (https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16820232530) and downloaded the latest BIOS from Asus.

I was able to successfully get the RAM to post at 2933 but could not get it up to 3200. I did not have to use DOCP settings to get it to post at 2933.

When I try to push the RAM to hit 3200 I get a 0d error code from the MB. I tried upping the DRAM voltage to 1.4 and it does not post. I attempted to up the SOC voltage to 1.2 (highest safe setting) and it cycles for two minutes and finally posts, but DRAM is set to 2400.

Both sticks are in A2+B2 slot configuration on the MB. I'm starting to run out of options. Should I RMA these sticks or wait untial another BIOS update comes out from ASUS which I hear is going to address memory stability at higher settings?

Last edited by Decim8r; 05-10-2017 at 06:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2017, 01:26 PM
GSKILL TECH's Avatar
GSKILL TECH GSKILL TECH is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 12,825
GSKILL TECH has disabled reputation
Default

Wait for the update, you should notice a significant improvement.
__________________
Are you an overclocker? Have screen shots of your OC results? Please post and share your OC experience!

The new G.Skill Overclocking Section!

http://www.gskill.us/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=43
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-07-2017, 03:22 PM
Decim8r Decim8r is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 6
Decim8r is reading into overclocking
Default ASUS 1107 BIOS Update

Quick update...Downloaded the new BIOS from ASUS today and tried a bunch of memory volt settings with the SOC and line load.

Unfortunately, 2933 is still the fastest I can get. On the positive side, the ASUS BIOS has come to a point where I don't need to constantly press the reset button on the motherboard. Seems to recover fine on its own. Guess I have to wait for another BIOS update to see if I can reach 3200.

Last edited by Decim8r; 05-10-2017 at 06:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-08-2017, 02:04 PM
GSKILL TECH's Avatar
GSKILL TECH GSKILL TECH is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 12,825
GSKILL TECH has disabled reputation
Default

What is SoC AUTO Voltage @ 2933? Make sure it is higher for 3200

What settings did you attempt for 3200?
__________________
Are you an overclocker? Have screen shots of your OC results? Please post and share your OC experience!

The new G.Skill Overclocking Section!

http://www.gskill.us/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=43
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2017, 05:21 PM
Decim8r Decim8r is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 6
Decim8r is reading into overclocking
Default

2933 works pretty much out of the box without any issue.

To get to 3200 I've tried a number of combos up to and including:
DRAM: 1.35V -> 1.4V
CPU SOC Voltage: 1.1V -> 1.25V
VDDSOC Load-Line Calibtaion: 1 -> 5 values
ProcODT: ~60 ohms
DOCP Standard settings

I've messed around the BCLK frequency like a 120 value and it does overclock, but never gets to 2933.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-11-2017, 11:36 AM
GSKILL TECH's Avatar
GSKILL TECH GSKILL TECH is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 12,825
GSKILL TECH has disabled reputation
Default

May be a CPU limitation if nothing responds to changes.

What do you mean BCLK 120 never gets to 2933?

You can try BCLK 120 , x26.66 for DDR4-3200
__________________
Are you an overclocker? Have screen shots of your OC results? Please post and share your OC experience!

The new G.Skill Overclocking Section!

http://www.gskill.us/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=43
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-12-2017, 04:22 AM
Decim8r Decim8r is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 6
Decim8r is reading into overclocking
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GSKILL TECH View Post
May be a CPU limitation if nothing responds to changes.

What do you mean BCLK 120 never gets to 2933?

You can try BCLK 120 , x26.66 for DDR4-3200
Yeah... I don't remember the exact frequencies but the ram drops to ~2600 when I try to increase BCLK. A slight overclock, but it doesn't hit 3200.

You maybe right in the CPU limitation. My current 1700x is not that great of an overclocker. I can get 3825Mghz on all eight cores, with stable testing and not upping the voltage to really high levels. Although I'm going after silence more than speed, so it's not a big deal to me.

I do have a slightly older i7 kaby lake build on another PC. If I don't feel lazy one day I may try to stick in the Flarex RAM on that pc build just to see if I can get it to run at 3200. Otherwise I may just wait for the next AGESA update.

Last edited by Decim8r; 05-12-2017 at 12:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-16-2017, 08:22 AM
MiL MiL is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 4
MiL is reading into overclocking
Default

Youre not alone. I got this RAM hoping it would run at rated speeds. It seems it depends on each particular CPU sample. Maybe future AGESA updates will sort it out. Hoping that G.skill is talking with ASUS and AMD about this.

My rig:
- Ryzen 5 1600 CPU
- Asus ROG Crosshair VI Hero MB (BIOS 1201)
- GSkill Flare-X 16GB (2x8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 F4-3200C14D-16GFX
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-16-2017, 11:13 AM
jayir jayir is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1
jayir is reading into overclocking
Default I have the same problem

I have the same problem thats how I found this thread.
I think I remember, however my memory is bad, when I first my my kit in it clocked right up to 3200 using the a xmp profile 2 on my msi titanium motherboard.
I later updated the bios and it wont hit 3200.
I do get the 2933

Last edited by jayir; 05-16-2017 at 11:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-17-2017, 08:49 AM
MiL MiL is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 4
MiL is reading into overclocking
Default

It could be that AGESA update 1.0.0.4 made things worse for Flare-X ram? I didnt try going back to older bioses on Asus C6H to see if it will boot at 3200. I'll just wait for AGESA 1.0.0.6 to be implemented. It should come with lots of RAM fixes. BIOS should be out in two weeks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All rights reserved. Copyright 1989-2013, G.Skill International Enterprise