G.SKILL TECH FORUM

Go Back   G.SKILL TECH FORUM ? General Discussion ? Overclocking ? AMD Socket FM1, FM2, FM2+

AMD Socket FM1, FM2, FM2+ AMD Llano and A series APU/CPUs ~ AMD A55 / A68 / A75 / A78 / A85 / A88 chip sets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-03-2013, 10:57 PM
damric damric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 97
damric is getting a feel for overclocking
Talking fm2+

I picked up an asrock extreme6+ and Athlon 760k with some blue ripjawsx 2133 2x4gb 2x4gb. Stable at 2133, stand by for more as I play around with this new platform.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-03-2013, 10:59 PM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 953
emissary42 is setting World Recordsemissary42 is setting World Recordsemissary42 is setting World Records
Default

Curious, if you will get 2666+ out of them and that board^^

Why did you get the Extreme6+ over the ASUS A88X-Pro and Gigabyte F2A88X-UP4?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-04-2013, 07:16 AM
damric damric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 97
damric is getting a feel for overclocking
Default

So far the 6+ holds the oc records while the up4 is unknown. I have owned quite a few midrange asrock and gigabyte boards in the past. I used to only get gigabyte for a while, but now I'm less partial.

I already noticed the vrms and chokes run hot even under moderate overclock so I put an 80 mm fan on top while abusing it. It makes me wonder if they used separate ln2 on there when they did the 8500MHz run. I'm already having to exceed voltage specs to get stable past 4700MHz. I'd like to at least take it over the 5200MHz that my fx-4100 was capable of on air with my msi 890fxa_gd65, but it looks like the board overloads before I'll ever smoke the chip. I wonder what kind of clocks the up4 can handle since its cooling looks better.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-04-2013, 08:25 AM
damric damric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 97
damric is getting a feel for overclocking
Default

2400 cl 10 (auto timings) stable at stock voltage. That's the highest divider. I could raise higher with the bus, but being fm2+ it will raise pci... I will play with it for a minute, but then I'm going to work on tightening timings. So far this looks like a good kit, and my Athlon seems to handle it suprisingly.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-04-2013, 09:53 AM
supahos's Avatar
supahos supahos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 380
supahos is familiar with all BIOS settings
Default

you might be able to squeeze a bit tighter timings out of it but I suspect the CL won't go to 9. I wouldn't mess with the Bus unless u unplug your video card, and any USB devices you may have, both could be hurt with a FSB OC. Best bet might just be to try and drop voltage. might even run as low as 1.55v and could help with the heating issues you spoke of earlier.
__________________
ASUS P8Z77-V LK / I5 3350P / 2X F3-12800CL9D-8GBRL Running @ 1866mhz / MSI GTX760 TF
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-04-2013, 03:21 PM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 953
emissary42 is setting World Recordsemissary42 is setting World Recordsemissary42 is setting World Records
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by damric View Post
I already noticed the vrms and chokes run hot even under moderate overclock so I put an 80 mm fan on top while abusing it... I wonder what kind of clocks the up4 can handle since its cooling looks better.
The UP4 has a very efficient and powerful cpu vrm equipped with PowIRstages (IR3550). While the Extreme6+ has a 4+1 design with doublers and only uses standard LFPAK/PowerPAK mosfets. Also the chip missing in the layout next to the ASRock logo probably is the external clock gen. That would have been very useful for BCLK overclocking beyond 136MHz. Notice the lack of 136MHz+ submissions @ HWBOT? That is the sole reason. The UP4 on the other hand should easily be able to do 170MHz+ on air, just like its predecessor

http://hwbot.org/submission/2353441

Last edited by emissary42; 12-04-2013 at 03:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-04-2013, 04:58 PM
damric damric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 97
damric is getting a feel for overclocking
Default

That's only 4+1?



I don't really care about base clock since CPU multi is unlocked, but good to know if going for ref clock score.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-04-2013, 06:44 PM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 953
emissary42 is setting World Recordsemissary42 is setting World Recordsemissary42 is setting World Records
Default

Don't be fooled by ASRocks 8+2 marketing. The pwm controller for the apu should be a IR3567. It is a 4+2 channel controller. On the backside of the pcb you will find four IR3598 used as doublers. So thats why i am calling it a 4+1 / 4+2 design with doublers. If you care, compare the characteristics of the mosfets used by ASrock

http://www.a-power.com.tw/files/AP_P...2U03GMT-HF.pdf & http://www.a-powerusa.com/docs/AP4034GMT-3.pdf (1+1 per phase / or 2+2 if you can follow me)

with those used on the UP4

http://www.irf.com/product-info/data...ata/ir3550.pdf (1x per phase)

Here is a good guide on the topic: http://sinhardware.com/index.php/vrm...s/82-vrm-guide

When cold the Extreme6+ is a very decent clocker, but with air cooling in mind it would not be on the top of my list.

Last edited by emissary42; 12-04-2013 at 06:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-04-2013, 07:09 PM
damric damric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 97
damric is getting a feel for overclocking
Default

Yeah, I'm aware the up4 has better though fewer mosfets. Right now I am trying to think of a dry ice mod for benching.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-04-2013, 07:16 PM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 953
emissary42 is setting World Recordsemissary42 is setting World Recordsemissary42 is setting World Records
Default

Have fun and good luck. I will keep an eye on this thread
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All rights reserved. Copyright 1989-2018, G.Skill International Enterprise