G.SKILL TECH FORUM

Go Back   G.SKILL TECH FORUM ? Product Discussion ? Gaming Peripherals ? Gaming Keyboards

Gaming Keyboards Issue with gaming keyboard? Post a thread in here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2016, 07:05 AM
Carlitos Carlitos is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 10
Carlitos is reading into overclocking
Default [TIP] Creating a "default" profile

Something I missed a lot in this software was the possibility of having a "default" profile to which the KB would go back once you exit a game/program.

One of the staff gave me an idea some time ago, creating an .exe file which I could execute everytime I wanted the profile to revert to that "default" setting. I thought that was a bit o a mess, so I didn't do it.

Today I had the brilliant idea of linking my default profile to explorer.exe and... profit! Each time I exit a game that has a profile linked and go into the desktop, or I open Chrome, or anything different than the game, my default profile is executed and stored in the keyboad memory.





And another tip, this time for developers: you can just do this in your software so user do not need to do it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-22-2016, 05:14 AM
G.SKILL's Avatar
G.SKILL G.SKILL is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 3,465
G.SKILL has disabled reputation
Default

Thanks for the excellent tip!

We'll check with the software team to see if this integration is possible, but since explorer.exe is a Windows system program, it might cause other unintended issues. In any case, we'll pass your feedback to our software team and hopefully a fix can be included in a future update.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-2017, 02:57 AM
Rafa Rafa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 29
Rafa is reading into overclocking
Default

Other option to this that could be easily maked by the G.Skill developers (or at least I think so), is to save the default profile when the program is stopped.

For example, you set Profile 1 to be default, and Profile 2 to be executed when chrome.exe is executed. When chrome.exe is executed, it will load profile 2. And when you close chrome, the g.skill software will see that chrome.exe isn't execute anymore, and will load again profile 1.

Last edited by Rafa; 10-10-2017 at 03:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All rights reserved. Copyright 1989-2018, G.Skill International Enterprise