G.SKILL TECH FORUM

Go Back   G.SKILL TECH FORUM ? Product Discussion ? DDR4 ? Trident Z RGB

Trident Z RGB Everything about Trident Z RGB here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2017, 05:23 PM
shupp872 shupp872 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 7
shupp872 is reading into overclocking
Default No control on Asrock x399 board with AMD version RAM

So far I have had no luck in controlling the RGB of the F4-3200C14Q-32GTZRX. The most recent version of the software (1.00.28) fails to detect any of the modules and then must be closed.

This is on an Asrock Taichi X399 board with an AMD Threadripper 1950x. Prior to this board, i was able to control the colors of the same ram on my prior board (Gigabyte X370 Gaming K7) with no issues so I know the ram works. (I have also verified that there are no SPD issues with Thaiphoon Burner).

Is this an Asrock bios issue, or a G.Skill software issue? Any similar situations or help would be appreciated.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2017, 12:00 PM
GSKILL TECH's Avatar
GSKILL TECH GSKILL TECH is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 13,054
GSKILL TECH has disabled reputation
Default

Did you try this?

http://www.gskill.us/forum/showthread.php?t=14713
__________________
Are you an overclocker? Have screen shots of your OC results? Please post and share your OC experience!

The new G.Skill Overclocking Section!

http://www.gskill.us/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=43
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2017, 07:45 PM
shupp872 shupp872 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 7
shupp872 is reading into overclocking
Default

Yeah, i have done two installations. The first installation i had turned UAC off, and that check box isn't in the properties window. The more recent installation I left UAC on, and the check was there, however checking it to "unblock" made no difference. When i launch the program it still says it cannot detect any compatible memory and must close.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-22-2017, 04:18 PM
GSKILL TECH's Avatar
GSKILL TECH GSKILL TECH is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 13,054
GSKILL TECH has disabled reputation
Default

Do you have the latest BIOS for the motherboard?

Check to see if SPD Write is enabled in BIOS.
__________________
Are you an overclocker? Have screen shots of your OC results? Please post and share your OC experience!

The new G.Skill Overclocking Section!

http://www.gskill.us/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=43
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-22-2017, 07:35 PM
shupp872 shupp872 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 7
shupp872 is reading into overclocking
Default

Yes, have the latest bios for the motherboard. 2.0 is the latest. I have looked for this setting in the bios after reading about other motherboards. I am not sure this exists on the Asrock X399 Taichi. I have looked through all the settings and have not been able to find anything about SPD write. Could it be called something else in the bios?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-29-2017, 12:27 PM
wolrah wolrah is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 1
wolrah is reading into overclocking
Default

Just want to thow out there that I am having the same issues with control of this ram.

Same Processor, MB and RAM.
I am currently on BIOS 1.80.

I have tried multiple configurations and various BIOS settings to no avail.
The current system was a 100% fresh install of windows 10 with NO other software installed but the G.Skill software, to no avail.

I will support troubleshooting when I am not away for business.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-03-2018, 10:19 AM
GSKILL TECH's Avatar
GSKILL TECH GSKILL TECH is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 13,054
GSKILL TECH has disabled reputation
Default

Contact the RGB team directly to see if there is any specific set up for this hardware combination

techsupport@gskill.com
__________________
Are you an overclocker? Have screen shots of your OC results? Please post and share your OC experience!

The new G.Skill Overclocking Section!

http://www.gskill.us/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=43
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-13-2018, 08:53 AM
shupp872 shupp872 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 7
shupp872 is reading into overclocking
Default

Confirmed that I am unable to control the modules if they are in the motherboard (Asrock x399 Taichi) recommended slots of A2, B2, C2, D2. However, If i move the modules to A1, B1, C1, D1, the software detects the modules and controls them perfectly. However the motherboard will only boot at the default speed of the ram (2133 mhz instead of the XMP2.0 speeds of 3200 mhz). Plus the timings are more loose in the #1 slots.

So it definitely has something to do with the slots used on the motherboard.

At this time, the control of the modules is not as important me as the speed of the ram, so I will be moving the modules back to the recommended slots and await a solution from G.Skill / Asrock.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-15-2018, 09:44 AM
GSKILL TECH's Avatar
GSKILL TECH GSKILL TECH is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 13,054
GSKILL TECH has disabled reputation
Default

Provide the feedback to AsRock and G.Skill RGB team, hopefully the next updates can resolve any issue.
__________________
Are you an overclocker? Have screen shots of your OC results? Please post and share your OC experience!

The new G.Skill Overclocking Section!

http://www.gskill.us/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=43
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-16-2018, 08:35 AM
shupp872 shupp872 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 7
shupp872 is reading into overclocking
Default

Thanks, I have let the Techsupport team know via email. I just wanted other users to have the information as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All rights reserved. Copyright 1989-2018, G.Skill International Enterprise