G.SKILL TECH FORUM

Go Back   G.SKILL TECH FORUM ? Product Discussion ? DDR3 ? BIOS Configuration for AMD Motherboards

BIOS Configuration for AMD Motherboards Discuss BIOS/EFI Configuration for specific AMD motherboards

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2016, 05:38 AM
Shushu Shushu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 4
Shushu is reading into overclocking
Unhappy F3-2400C11D-8GAB + GA-F2A88XM-D3H + A10-7870K Unstable at 2400

Hello,

I recently bought this combo and I'm trying to make sure I get the most of it. Out of the box it runs in 1600Mhz. In the bios I turned on XMP and there was only one profile there called "Profile1" which put the RAM on 2400Mhz. Windows boots but it's unstable and I've seen some file write errors. It crashes with a blue screen after about 5 minutes of running Prime95. If I go back to the original 1600 there are no issues at all.
I tried changing the timings in the bios to the advertised 11-13-13-31 and the voltage to 1.65 but that didn't work either.

Update: Running memtest86 now with both modules just to make sure they're not defective. No errors so far so I believe they're fine.

What am I doing wrong / How do I proceed from here? I specifically bought this set so I can run it in 2400.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by Shushu; 01-18-2016 at 07:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-18-2016, 07:26 AM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 938
emissary42 is setting World Recordsemissary42 is setting World Recordsemissary42 is setting World Records
Default

What stopcode did you get with the BSOD?

File write errors might not be directly memory related, but can occur for example if the reference clock is raised beyond a certain point. Can you please show us your settings with the XMP enabled? (CPU-Z tabs, Aida64 or HWinfo64)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-18-2016, 07:40 AM
Shushu Shushu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 4
Shushu is reading into overclocking
Default

Thanks for the quick reply! I'm going to run Prime95 again now to see if I get the same BSOD. In the meanwhile, here are my screenshots from CPU-Z with XMP enabled. It's weird that it shows the memory sticks in slots 2 and 4 while I'm 100% sure that they're installed in 1 and 3.

Update: I didn't even get a BSOD this time, after about 5 minutes running Prime 95 I got a black screen and the PC stopped responding. During those 5 minutes, several programs that are running in the background have crashed.

Update 2: Running memtest86 again (with the XMP profile) and already seeing hundreds of errors after a few minutes. 4,000+ errors after 2.5 hours. All in Test 6.

Last edited by Shushu; 01-18-2016 at 10:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-18-2016, 03:39 PM
GSKILL TECH's Avatar
GSKILL TECH GSKILL TECH is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 13,005
GSKILL TECH has disabled reputation
Default

Do you have the latest BIOS? Have you tried a lower frequency like 1866 to see if it can work. Most likely you need to boost CPU-NB Voltage to support 2400
__________________
Are you an overclocker? Have screen shots of your OC results? Please post and share your OC experience!

The new G.Skill Overclocking Section!

http://www.gskill.us/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=43
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-18-2016, 03:45 PM
Shushu Shushu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 4
Shushu is reading into overclocking
Default

I do have the latest BIOS (F9). I tried 2133 (by setting the multiplier to 21.33 and touching nothing else) and was able to run memtest86 and prime95 for an hour each without a problem.

What you are suggesting is to still use the XMP profile but slowly upping the NB voltage and testing again? Should I do so in increments of 0.05v? What's the upper limit to raising the NB voltage without damaging anything? I don't have any special cooling on it.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-18-2016, 04:50 PM
GSKILL TECH's Avatar
GSKILL TECH GSKILL TECH is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 13,005
GSKILL TECH has disabled reputation
Default

1.30V is the upper range.

Keep an eye out of CPU temp

2400 may be tricky and require careful tweaking.
__________________
Are you an overclocker? Have screen shots of your OC results? Please post and share your OC experience!

The new G.Skill Overclocking Section!

http://www.gskill.us/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=43
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-19-2016, 06:07 PM
Shushu Shushu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 4
Shushu is reading into overclocking
Default

Thanks! Any idea what the base voltage for the NB core is? Gigabyte's BIOS only has "auto" or I can enter my own, but it doesn't show me what voltage is running right now.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-20-2016, 12:30 PM
GSKILL TECH's Avatar
GSKILL TECH GSKILL TECH is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 13,005
GSKILL TECH has disabled reputation
Default

1.15V default I think
__________________
Are you an overclocker? Have screen shots of your OC results? Please post and share your OC experience!

The new G.Skill Overclocking Section!

http://www.gskill.us/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=43
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All rights reserved. Copyright 1989-2013, G.Skill International Enterprise