G.SKILL TECH FORUM

Go Back   G.SKILL TECH FORUM ? Product Discussion ? DDR4

DDR4 Looking for help with DDR4 memory? Post a thread in here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2017, 02:03 PM
shmerl shmerl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 15
shmerl is reading into overclocking
Default Random freezes with G.SKILL Flare X DDR4 3200 (16GB)

I have a problem with AMD based build. It periodically freezes the system (rather randomly, and not very frequently). Strangely, sometimes the cursor continues working, but everything else is frozen.

Configuration
RAM: G.SKILL Flare X (2x8 GB), DDR4 3200 (14-14-14-34)
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard: Asrock X370 Taichi
OS: Debian testing Linux x86_64

RAM is installed in second and fourth slots (A2, B2) as recommended by the motherboard manual.

Currently in the motherboard firmware I have these settings:

XMP 2.0 profile: DDR4-3200 14-14-14-34 1.35 V
DRAM Frequency: DDR4-3200
AM4 Advance boot training: auto
Voltage mode: stable
DRAM voltage: 1.350 V
VTT-DDR: 0.680 V
all other settings on auto.

In this build I already RMA'd the CPU (because of known AMD segfaults bug) and the motherboard (coil whine), and also tested it with a different power supply. The freezing problem persists (it was from the beginning). So I suspect it's RAM related.

Can you recommend any way to fix this by adjusting any motherboard settings? Freezes happened in the past with lower frequency too by the way. Or the only way to fix is to RMA the memory?

Last edited by shmerl; 10-17-2017 at 02:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2017, 10:21 AM
GSKILL TECH's Avatar
GSKILL TECH GSKILL TECH is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 13,005
GSKILL TECH has disabled reputation
Default

Have you tried a lower frequency like 2933 to see if it can work?

For DDR4-3200, you may need to set CPU LLC Level 3 and SoC LLC to Level 4.
__________________
Are you an overclocker? Have screen shots of your OC results? Please post and share your OC experience!

The new G.Skill Overclocking Section!

http://www.gskill.us/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=43
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2017, 02:36 PM
shmerl shmerl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 15
shmerl is reading into overclocking
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GSKILL TECH View Post
Have you tried a lower frequency like 2933 to see if it can work?

For DDR4-3200, you may need to set CPU LLC Level 3 and SoC LLC to Level 4.
Thanks, I'll try changing the LLC first. Is that a general recommendation, or specific to Ryzen CPUs and their "infinity fabric"?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-18-2017, 05:11 PM
shmerl shmerl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 15
shmerl is reading into overclocking
Default

Hm. It's strange, I set LLC level 4 for the CPU (it was 5 before which is auto), and LLC level 4 for SoC (it was 5 before as well). And now it seems the CPU actually runs cooler. I expected the opposite!

I'll first try with 4 and 4 and see if that would be stable. If not, I'll go with 3 and 4 (that would put more voltage balancing on the CPU).

Last edited by shmerl; 10-18-2017 at 05:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-19-2017, 04:14 PM
shmerl shmerl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 15
shmerl is reading into overclocking
Default

Note, just had an mce reboot. Trying LLC level 3 for the CPU now.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-21-2017, 04:58 PM
shmerl shmerl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 15
shmerl is reading into overclocking
Default

That didn't help either. I'm now running with 2933 MHz and will write back about how stable it is. Though it's a bit disappointing that full 3200 can't be achieved in a stable configuration.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-22-2017, 12:55 AM
shmerl shmerl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 15
shmerl is reading into overclocking
Default

What's the recommended ProcODT for running G.Skill Flare X at 3200 MHz? I can try experimenting with that.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-22-2017, 03:19 AM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 938
emissary42 is setting World Recordsemissary42 is setting World Recordsemissary42 is setting World Records
Default

Usually 53 or 60 on ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-23-2017, 04:45 PM
shmerl shmerl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 15
shmerl is reading into overclocking
Default

2933 MHz so far looks more stable - I didn't have any freezes in a while. Is there anything else that can be tweaked to try 3200 MHz? May be Vcore or SOC voltage?

UPDATE: I tried raising Vcore and Soc voltages, but that so far didn't improve stability for 3200 MHz.

Last edited by shmerl; 10-24-2017 at 05:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-24-2017, 05:30 PM
shmerl shmerl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 15
shmerl is reading into overclocking
Default

Also, does it make sense to RMA the memory kit, or it's likely won't help reaching 3200 MHz?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All rights reserved. Copyright 1989-2013, G.Skill International Enterprise