G.SKILL TECH FORUM

Go Back   G.SKILL TECH FORUM ? Product Discussion ? DDR4 ? Trident Z RGB

Trident Z RGB Everything about Trident Z RGB here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2017, 01:27 PM
QuantumsEdge QuantumsEdge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 67
QuantumsEdge is reading into overclocking
Default Installed 1.00.28 and now my RAM can not be detected. Going back to 1.00.22 NOT fixed

As many of you know this software has been buggy and had issues from the start. After RMA my first pair I have been using 1.00.22 successfully for the most part until G.SKILL decided to release TRIDENTZ RGB software "out of beta" with 1.00.28.

I Then:
Stopped the "Lighting Service"
Ran full uninstaller
Manually deleted remaining Lighting and ASUS folders
Ran CCleaner and cleaned the registry
Rebooted
Installed 1.00.28
rebooted again.
CAN NOT DETECT RAM message upon opening application.

What am I doing wrong, 1.0.22 worked sometimes, at least detected the RAM.

UPDATE: EVEN AFTER ROLLING BACK TO 1.00.22 THE PROGRAM STILL CAN NOT DETECT MY RAM. WHAT DO I DO NOW GREAT SKILL?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-04-2017, 11:54 PM
zoglog zoglog is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 5
zoglog is reading into overclocking
Default

doesn't look great

Gskill, you really need to pull that driver from the site...

People have been reporting this since release but I just installed it today unaware of the issues and cant even revert back
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2017, 05:30 PM
JayKay JayKay is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 9
JayKay is reading into overclocking
Default

The only solution to this was to restore my system.

I tried everything!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2017, 06:49 PM
WeAreDormin WeAreDormin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 5
WeAreDormin is getting the hang of things
Default Potential Fix

I've posted this in some other threads, but I think it is relevant here as well. This fixed the error where the software couldn't find my RAM. I think this solution is Windows 10 specific, because in my case it appears that this issue was actually caused by problems with Windows 10 rather than G.Skill's software.

1. Download the zipped v1.00.28 installation files from the support page (do NOT extract yet)
2. Navigate to the folder where you saved the zipped folder. Right click on the folder and open up Properties
3. In the General tab of the Properties window, the last section of the tab is the Attributes section. In here, look for a checkbox that is labeled "Unblock". If such a checkbox is not present, then unfortunately my fix won't work for you. However, if the box is there, check it then click "Apply". Once you've done that, click "Okay" to close the Properties window.
4. Proceed to extract the files from the zipped folder as you would normally, then install. When I next ran the software, it was able to detect my RAM and I was able to control the LEDs

IMPORTANT NOTES:
1. As you've probably seen elsewhere, I do not recommend using other LED control software simultaneously with the G.Skill software. I personally am using a Gigabyte board with RGB Fusion, and I can simply open up task manager and force kill the application there before running the G.Skill software to control the RAM. Once I'm done, I can then use task manager to kill the "LightingService" task and then reopen RGB Fusion if I need to.
2. Unfortunately, one or two of the sticks will forget its setting when the PC powers on after a shutdown or restart. This can be easily resolved by just opening up the G.Skill software and re-applying the settings. Again, if you're using another LED control software package, you should probably kill that process as described above before attempting to reset the RAM lighting.

If anyone else tries this and it works, please confirm so that future forum-goers can hopefully see it as well.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-07-2017, 07:25 AM
MaicolVieira MaicolVieira is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 1
MaicolVieira is reading into overclocking
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by WeAreDormin View Post
I've posted this in some other threads, but I think it is relevant here as well. This fixed the error where the software couldn't find my RAM. I think this solution is Windows 10 specific, because in my case it appears that this issue was actually caused by problems with Windows 10 rather than G.Skill's software.

1. Download the zipped v1.00.28 installation files from the support page (do NOT extract yet)
2. Navigate to the folder where you saved the zipped folder. Right click on the folder and open up Properties
3. In the General tab of the Properties window, the last section of the tab is the Attributes section. In here, look for a checkbox that is labeled "Unblock". If such a checkbox is not present, then unfortunately my fix won't work for you. However, if the box is there, check it then click "Apply". Once you've done that, click "Okay" to close the Properties window.
4. Proceed to extract the files from the zipped folder as you would normally, then install. When I next ran the software, it was able to detect my RAM and I was able to control the LEDs

IMPORTANT NOTES:
1. As you've probably seen elsewhere, I do not recommend using other LED control software simultaneously with the G.Skill software. I personally am using a Gigabyte board with RGB Fusion, and I can simply open up task manager and force kill the application there before running the G.Skill software to control the RAM. Once I'm done, I can then use task manager to kill the "LightingService" task and then reopen RGB Fusion if I need to.
2. Unfortunately, one or two of the sticks will forget its setting when the PC powers on after a shutdown or restart. This can be easily resolved by just opening up the G.Skill software and re-applying the settings. Again, if you're using another LED control software package, you should probably kill that process as described above before attempting to reset the RAM lighting.

If anyone else tries this and it works, please confirm so that future forum-goers can hopefully see it as well.


Friend, I had to make an account in the forum only to thank you, because of what you said worked here, incredible that seems, always appeared that I had no memory installed, I did what you said and it worked, thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-08-2017, 10:17 PM
Gameface Gameface is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 61
Gameface is reading into overclocking
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WeAreDormin View Post
I've posted this in some other threads, but I think it is relevant here as well. This fixed the error where the software couldn't find my RAM. I think this solution is Windows 10 specific, because in my case it appears that this issue was actually caused by problems with Windows 10 rather than G.Skill's software.

1. Download the zipped v1.00.28 installation files from the support page (do NOT extract yet)
2. Navigate to the folder where you saved the zipped folder. Right click on the folder and open up Properties
3. In the General tab of the Properties window, the last section of the tab is the Attributes section. In here, look for a checkbox that is labeled "Unblock". If such a checkbox is not present, then unfortunately my fix won't work for you. However, if the box is there, check it then click "Apply". Once you've done that, click "Okay" to close the Properties window.
4. Proceed to extract the files from the zipped folder as you would normally, then install. When I next ran the software, it was able to detect my RAM and I was able to control the LEDs

IMPORTANT NOTES:
1. As you've probably seen elsewhere, I do not recommend using other LED control software simultaneously with the G.Skill software. I personally am using a Gigabyte board with RGB Fusion, and I can simply open up task manager and force kill the application there before running the G.Skill software to control the RAM. Once I'm done, I can then use task manager to kill the "LightingService" task and then reopen RGB Fusion if I need to.
2. Unfortunately, one or two of the sticks will forget its setting when the PC powers on after a shutdown or restart. This can be easily resolved by just opening up the G.Skill software and re-applying the settings. Again, if you're using another LED control software package, you should probably kill that process as described above before attempting to reset the RAM lighting.

If anyone else tries this and it works, please confirm so that future forum-goers can hopefully see it as well.
I'll give this a try.
__________________
Gigabyte Z270 Gaiming 7 (GA-Z270X Gaiming 7) BIOS F4
Intel i5 7600k
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1070 G1 (GV-N1070G1 GAIMING-8GD)
4x G.Skill Trident Z RGB (DDR4 2400 - PC4 19200)
1TB Samsung 960 EVO
Win10 Home 64bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All rights reserved. Copyright 1989-2013, G.Skill International Enterprise