G.SKILL TECH FORUM

Go Back   G.SKILL TECH FORUM ? General Discussion ? Overclocking

Overclocking All about memory overclocking, bandwidth results, tips/guides

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2018, 11:40 AM
OberonV OberonV is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 2
OberonV is reading into overclocking
Default Are these DRAM voltage fluctuations normal? (F4-2400C15D-16GVR)

Hey there,

I've been experiencing some "Event 4101 Display driver nvlddmkm stopped responding and has successfully recovered" errors, and I just wanted to rule out my RAM as a potential cause as I troubleshoot this, as I have read that these random display crashes can be related to memory. In my BIOS I noticed that my DRAM voltage was fluctuating between 1.184 and 1.200, and so I was wondering if this was normal behavior or not?

System specs:

i7 6700k Overclocked @ 4.5ghz - 1.265 Vcore

Memory: G.Skill 16GB 2x 2400 - F4-2400C15D-16GVR (XMP profile enabled @ 1.200 DRAM voltage)

Motherboard: Asus PRIME Z270-A

Power Supply: EVGA SUPERNOVA 750w

Video card: EVGA GTX 1070 FTW


Any feedback or advice is greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your time.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2018, 02:32 PM
GSKILL TECH's Avatar
GSKILL TECH GSKILL TECH is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 13,050
GSKILL TECH has disabled reputation
Default

Fluctuation is normal with any Voltage. You can manually set it higher to see if stability improves.

Same with CPU VCore
__________________
Are you an overclocker? Have screen shots of your OC results? Please post and share your OC experience!

The new G.Skill Overclocking Section!

http://www.gskill.us/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=43
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2018, 02:55 PM
OberonV OberonV is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 2
OberonV is reading into overclocking
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GSKILL TECH View Post
Fluctuation is normal with any Voltage. You can manually set it higher to see if stability improves.

Same with CPU VCore
Thank you for the reply! If I may ask, what would be the highest safe voltage for these particular modules? I've never really adjusted RAM voltages/settings manually before, I apologize.

Also, is it common for different motherboards to require different voltage tuning, even if from the same manufacturer?

Last edited by OberonV; 01-11-2018 at 09:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Yesterday, 09:54 AM
GSKILL TECH's Avatar
GSKILL TECH GSKILL TECH is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 13,050
GSKILL TECH has disabled reputation
Default

Modules can handle high Voltage as long as the other settings complement, such as timings, and frequency.

Yes, every motherboard design and auto Voltage values can vary, so some fine tuning may be necessary.
__________________
Are you an overclocker? Have screen shots of your OC results? Please post and share your OC experience!

The new G.Skill Overclocking Section!

http://www.gskill.us/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=43
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dram, fluctuation, overclock, ram, voltage

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All rights reserved. Copyright 1989-2018, G.Skill International Enterprise