Which would be better

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which would be better

Am building and have tested up with the F3-2400C10D-8GZH and the board (Asus P8Z77-V doesn't like it insomuch as I have to use the memory button to get to to start up. The speed is put back to 1333MHz and although I am new to the UEFI I am wondering is this set is just too much for the board.

Would I be better off using Ares F3-1866C9D-8GAB as it lists the Asus as the base -V board while the other doesn't and lists only the variants of the -V such as LE LX Pro De Luxe etc.

I plan to do some overclocking and maybe some gaming and will eventually have 16GB in place. So any ideas or thoughts on what I should get please as I can sell these sticks on if need be.
    ?The difference between genius and stupidity is - genius has its limits"

To start do you have the latest BIOS and what CPU are you running...pretty much need a 3770K or maybe a 3570K to run 2400 (not all 3570Ks will run 2400). If you have one of those two, make sure you have the latest BIOS, then go into BIOS, enable XMP and select 2400. If no joy, or you not running one of those CPUs, do the same and then set the freq to 2133 and try that. Let us know what happens and we'll go from there

Pls offer comments on support I provide, HERE, in order to help me do a better job here:

Tman

Comment

Ok Tradesman I am about to start up for the first time and yes the CPU is an i5 3570K so I'll try what you say in that BIOS

John

Comment

Hopefully it can carry the 2400 sticks, as I said many can't, so be prepared to try 2133. If it doesn't hit 2400, let me know your DRAM timings, (basic and advanced) and system voltages, hopefuylly we can get them full speed ahead at 2400

Pls offer comments on support I provide, HERE, in order to help me do a better job here:

Tman

Comment