Noob, going 24GB question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Noob, going 24GB question

Hi there, I am a noob to the forum so sorry in advance. I think I need some major help/advise. I am trying to figure out the best (fastest-quickest) and most upgradable Ram for my system. I bought (2) G.Skill F3-12800CL9T-12BRL sets to upgrade from my (stock) 12GB Elpida-6x2GB, to a 24GB G.Skill setup. Now I am reading and looking around (should have done this first, I know) I am thinking that there is better G.Skill memory out there for my system. Any help or suggestion?s please?

Here is my system.

Dell Studio XPS 435T/9000:

Windows 7 Ultimate (64bit)

Intel Core i7 Extreme 965 @ 3.2GHz - Current speed - 3.33GHz

Motherboard ? Dell Inc, Model - 0X501H, Chipset - Intel X58, BIOS - Version A16 03/19/2009, SMBIOS Version 2.5

GPU ? Nvidia GeForce GTX 260, Driver 8.17.12.6099, 10/16/2010 (Will be upgrading in the next few weeks!)

I really just want to know if I am doing the right thing. Once I started reading more about the latencies 7 vers 9, and PC3-8500, 10666, or 12800. I knew I needed help from people that knew way more than I do.

Thanks again

You picked a good set(s), but to answer your questions - ideally, when buying DRAM (any size kit) it's best to buy the full amount of DRAM you want in a single kit, in your case for 24GB, a single 6x4GB package - that way you are getting a set that has been tested and all sticks play well together. When buying 2 sets, even when the same model, there is no guarantee that they will work together well, you can normally get them to work but may sacrifice from stated specs.