Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• F1-3200PHU2-2GBZX on DFI mobo

Hello,

I have an Opteron 170 on a DFI UT LanParty CFX3200 DR and 2 x F1-3200PHU2-2GBZX for a total of 4 GB of memory. I purchased them a year and a half ago, first one of my kits was faulty so I RMA it, then everything was OK according to memtest+, however when I got my full 4 GB running on my board my machine became extremely unstable. Since then I am trying to find the corrent settings for this memory and this mobo so they can run both 1:1 and stable.

Could someone please tell me what are the correct memory timings for this chips. I do not want to overclock it, just to run it stable at 400 mhz.

Some other info: Currently the machine is kind of stable under Windows 7, but I'm not really familiar with windows so I don't know how to put it under stress. However I'm a linux administrator and I run linux on my workstation, which is the OS that is crashing all the time, random kernel panics, aborts during compile. First of all I thought it was the Nvidia drivers, I changed to ATI, then I thought it was the ATI proprietary drivers, so I switched to the opensource driver, I even ran the machine just in a console without doing anything and it still crashes after few hours (max a day if in console). I thought it is the PSU, so I changed with an Enermax one 465W. But the errors I see during compilation time and the random kernel crashes all point in RAM direction, so I think I haven't setup the machine correctly.

Here is a link to pastebin with my CPU-Z data:

http://pastebin.com/f61d8a3c8

amd cpu cant run 4 sticks of ddr400 and should automatically switch to 333mhz
    but i dont think DFI's let the cpu do that.
    you have to set it up manualy
    try 2-3-2-5 2T 400mhz 2.6V
    or 2-3-2-5 1T 333mhz 2.6V

the nf4 sli venus is the only s939 board that will run 4 sticks at 400mhz 1T

Comment

because of AMD K8 CPU limitation, you could only run DDR333 while runnig with 4 sticks