Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Increase my RAM speed??

Hello,
    I am a noob when it comes to overclocking and i have been experimenting a bit, but i noticed just recently that my RAM score on passmark's benchamrk software sucks. I don't understand why because it is fast RAM. Here are my system specs:
    Mobo: Asus M5A97
    CPU: AMD FX-8150 (OC to 4.0Ghz)
    RAM: 2x 4GB GSkill Sniper Series DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900) Dimms
    GPU: Asus GTX 560
    SSD: OCZ Vertex 3 120GB

I noticed that my RAM score was something like 1246 and a friend of mine with RAM running at 1600Mhz got a score of something like 3000. What gives? I don't understand why mine can be so low compared to his. Any help here either with how to change settings or overclock my RAM would be welcomed!

What's your DRAM running at, can pull down CPU-Z to find out, it's a free utility program, will want to run it and look at the Memory tab, you'll have a list of numbers to the right, at the top is the freq - if your at 1866 it will show around 933 (since it's DDR DOUBLE Data Rate - so 933 times 2 = 1866). It may well be at the mobo default of 1333 or maybe 1600. If it's not at 1866 look in the BIOS for DOCP or XMP and enable it and set to 1866, then check CPU-Z again.

If no XMP or DOCP can set them up manually - check the info thread here for help:

http://www.gskill.us/forum/showthread.php?t=11742

Also, one reason they may differ a lot would be if your friend is running an Intel CPU, they will generally always score much better than AMD CPUs because the INtel CPUs have a much stronger MC (Memory Controller) and utilize resources much better than AMD systems.

CHeck these and let us know what you find

Pls offer comments on support I provide, HERE, in order to help me do a better job here:

Tman

Comment