Just Curious

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just Curious

Just purchased the Ripjaws xF3-12800CL9Q-16GBXL.
    Motherboard: MSi H55M-P31
    CPU: i3 530 (o.c. to ~3.5)
    I enabled XMP to increase memory speed.
    It is Dual channel, lowered tRFC from 144 to 133. Improved boot time. How low can I safely go with this?
    Using MaxxMem2
    Memory Copy 9708 MByte/sec.
    Mem.-read 10088 MByte/sec.
    Mem.-Write 7898 MByte/sec.
    Reached mem. score: 8.99 GB/sec.
    Mem. Latency:89.6ns

DDR3-798(1596) MHz, Dual symmetric-Channel (9-9-9-24-2t)

oh yeah, OS is Win. 7 Home Premium, sp1 64bit.

I am a noob, but have been reading up on this stuff for the past month. Just wondering if my benchmarks are what they should be at, and what the benefits of benchmarks are? Input is much appreciated.
    Last edited by jon666; 05-19-2012, 03:04 PM. Reason: Oops wrong setting info...

One comparison might be to play with the timings and Bench after each successful boot - you can jot down the figures as you go or just use the Snipping Tool to save a screenshot of the results and give a descriptive name like trfc 133 or whatever. Might want to experiment more with base timings than the advanced as they generally don't offer alot in performance gain. From where you are at could try maybe 1333 at 8-8-8-24 and see the diff, or try 9-9-9-24 1T which would be a boost, then maybe 8-9-9-24 2 T, then same with 1T (at CL8 may need to boost DRAM voltage up say + .05 to start). BM mean alot to many (more so to OCers and Gamers) and to many others don't really mean much unless they are unhappy with performance and are trying to isolate WHY, the system doesn't seem to be performing to what they expect.

Hope this helps, any other questions whether general or specific, just give a shout, I'll be watching NASCAR for awhile so I'll be close (have DirectTV running through the computer to one of my screens)